Software & Apps » Organization & Records

Ancestral Sources

Ancestral Sources by Nick Walker allows the rapid entry of the most commonly used genealogical source information. Ancestral Sources is designed to be used alongside the top-rated Family Historian application by Calico Pie Software. The current version supports the entry of census, marriage, baptism, death and burial/cremation information. Future versions will allow entry of other source information such as births. In this version, census, marriage, burial/cremation, death and baptism entries can be rapidly entered into Ancestral Sources which automatically adds GEDCOM census, marriage, death, burial and baptism events, occupations, births, and other facts linked to a source record for every individual involved. Images can also be linked with ease.

Clooz - Connecting People Through Documents

An electronic filing cabinet and database for systematically storing all of the clues to your ancestry that you have been collecting. Clooz has over 100 different templates are provided to match the types of information contained in the type of document you find. Clooz contains templates for all U.S. federal censuses, 1841-1891 U.K. censuses, 1852-1901 Canadian censuses, and 1901 and 1911 Irish censuses, as well as generic templates for censuses not included, such as state censuses. Can exchange data with the following software: Legacy Family Tree, Roots Magic, Family Historian and GEDCOM files.

Custodian 4 for Family Historians

Database software which helps you to store, index and organise the information you have gathered from all kinds of family history records. Use specialised forms for many record types, build family trees, compile mini-biographies, maintain a library list and keep track of your correspondents and research notes. Use Custodian for general family history research, one-name studies, indexing projects, local history and one-place studies. Keep a computer-based version of all your paper records, documents and lists in one place and minimise endless searching for paperwork.

Genea - Your Genealogy Research Tool

GENEA for iOS, iPadOS and macOS. If you need help with your genealogy research, Genea is the app for you. Genea allows you to keep your notes and research logs organised and separated from your own family tree. When you find a family connection, you can easily export the note to import the information in your family tree.

Genealogy Research Organizer

Program to store your genealogy data using a drop-line style chart. Holds source citations, too.

Genota: Organising Your Research

Genota is a free form research manager designed to assist genealogists and family historians alike document and manage the seemingly endless array of information normally collected during research, whether it be in electronic form or transcribed from archive resources, letters, e-mail, etc.

Nim

A French software organization utility to keep track of records such as parish registers, etc.

Obituary Software for Obituary Management and Organization of Obituaries

The ObitEditor is designed for individuals searching their ancestry, family historians, groups, genealogy and historical societies, cemeteries and other organizations desiring to organize a transcription, listing, or index of their obituaries.

Personal Knowbase Free-Form Information Database and Note Organizer Software

Organize your genealogy research notes with Personal Knowbase. This free-form database software for Windows uses keywords to find related information quickly and easily by association.

Treepad: Personal Information Manager, Organizer, Word Processor, PIM, Search Engine, Database, Notes Manager and Much More

Windows shareware utility to organize all your research data and files.