Norway / Norge » Immigration, Emigration & Migration

Det norske Utvandrersenteret / The Norwegian Emigration

The Norwegian Emigration (DNU) researches and disseminates Norwegian emigration and immigration history. The Norwegian Emigration Center was established in 1986 to help the descendants of Norwegians abroad to find their Norwegian roots - exactly 150 years after the brigantine "North" and "The Norwegian rock" left Stavanger headed to America, with a total of 167 emigrants on board.

Digitalarkivet - Arkivverket / Digital Archives

Online searchable databases from the National Archives of Norway and the University of Bergen. Includes: censuses, parish registers, digitised real estate registers, probate records, landede property tax records, legal proceedings and sanctions, accounts and tax lists, oil and gas records (digitised), genealogy collections (digitised), address books for kristiania/oslo and aker (digitised).

Emigrants from Høland, Norway (Wayback Machine)

Emigration Site for Finnmark County, Norway

The emigration list contains names of people who emigrated from Alta and Vads

Gjenvick-Gj

Passenger Lists available for most transatlantic steamship lines with major collections for American Line, Anchor Line, Atlantic Transport Line, Canadian Pacific Ocean Services (CPOS), CGT-French Line, Cunard Line, Hamburg-American Line, Holland America Line, North German Lloyd and White Star Line.

Nordic and Scandinavian Emigration to the United States

Compiled by subject specialists at the Library of Congress, this guide provides print and online resources for researching the genealogy of Scandinavian and Nordic families in the U.S., along with key national, state, and local histories.

Norway-Heritage - Passenger Lists and Emigrant Ships from Norway Heritage

Includes and index of ships, over 100 passenger lists, voyage account descriptions, pictures & articles. Information about what transatlantic company the emigration agents operating in Norway represented. Useful if you only know the name of the agent, as finding the company he represented will help you to narrow the search for the transatlantic ship. You will also find information about the way the agent was authorized to convey the emigrants. You might also search for the shipping companies, to find information about routes and fleets. Whether your search for agents or shipping lines, you will find the information linked to eachother in the search results.

Toten emigrant 1846

Emigrants from Toten, Oppland, Norway. This is a remarkable record of the efforts, over 15 years, of Ole Granum to record and note the parents and the destinations of more than 15,000 emigrants who left Toten (East and West) between 1846 and 1966. It is listed by year, not by name, unfortunately.