Mexico » How To

Ancestry.com Wiki - The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy

The Source: A Guidebook to American Genealogy is a reference book published by Ancestry Publishing. The first edition was published in 1984 and was edited by Arlene H. Eakle and Johni Cerny. A revised edition, edited by Loretto Dennis Szucs and Sandra Hargreaves Luebking, was published in 1997. The current edition, the third, was published in 2006 and was also edited by Szucs and Luebking. In 2010, Ancestry.com digitized the content of The Source and made it available in wiki format as one of the foundational sources for the Ancestry.com Wiki. Each chapter has been broken into one or more series of articles. This wiki is a free service of Ancestry.com.

FamilySearch - Help Center - Learning Center ^FREE

Hundreds of free online genealogy courses. Enter a keyword in the search box to see a list of lessons for that topic.

FamilySearch Learning Center - Crossing the Frontera ^FREE

If your ancestor crossed the U.S. border from Mexico between 1895 and 1957, you may want to try searching for him or her in Border Crossing records. A free online class with a video and handout. Be sure that your browser allows pop-up windows in order to view the lesson.

FamilySearch Wiki - Mexico

This outstanding wiki introduces records and strategies that can help you learn more about your ancestors. It explains terms associated with this country's particular genealogy research and describes the content, use, and availability of major genealogical records.

FamilySearch Wiki - Mexico Genealogy

Guide to Mexico ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hispanic Genealogy & History Newsletter

By Colleen Greene.

Locating Those Non-Searchable Browsable-Only Digitized Mexico Records on FamilySearch

From the blog by Colleen (Robledo) Greene.

My Three Go-To Help Tools for Working with Mexico Genealogy Records

By Colleen Greene.