Famous People » General Resources

Ancestry.com $

Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com - Where They're Buried

Find the final resting place of more than 20,000 notable persons who were either buried or cremated in the United States. Source: Spencer, Thomas E. Where They're Buried. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 2001.

CELEBRITY CENSUS - Celebrities Found in Historic Census Schedules

As our name implies, this site is dedicated to celebrity census records! Whether the person was born a celebrity or was an ancestor of someone who would later achieve noteriety, they're name is sitting on a census schedule somewhere

Census Hall of Fame

Famous people found in various UK census forms. Includes scanned images of the forms.

Dead and Buried

Obituaries of the famous, infamous, writers, actors, singers and sports people who have died since 1984.

FamilySearch - Discover Your Famous Relatives

FamilySearch - Famous Relatives

Famous Census Records - Star Census

The HUGE searchable website of more than 600 famous census records.

Famous Family Trees Blog

Contains links to GED files of family trees of fictional characters such as Harry Potter; famous families, like the Wedgewood/Darwins; famous companies, like Apple Computer; religious systems like the Bible; and royalty, like the famous Royal92 file.

Famous Name Changes

Famous People in the Census

Census Snapshots of the Rich and Famous.

Famous Roots -- Looking at the Ancestors in Celebrity Genealogies

FamousKin.com

Celebrity, Presidents, Vice-Presidents, Historical, Signers, Royalty, Infamous, Mayflower, Literary, Military, Witchcraft, Spies, Business, Governors, Political, First Ladies, Artists, Space, Sports.

Gene@Star - Famous Genealogies on the Web

Genealogies of the Famous (and Infamous)

Genealogies for Lizzie Borden, Amelia Earhart and Princess Diana.

GenealogyMagazine, Episode 6: Celebrity Research Pitfalls (YouTube)

In researching the roots of actresses Elizabeth MONTGOMERY and Carolyn JONES, genealogist James Pylant found published sources with inaccurate information about the names of their immediate family members. In this episode, learn to use published sources with caution. While biographical data is easily found online and in books, accuracy is not guaranteed.

Geneastar: Genealogy of famous people

HistoryGeo Blog

Discover ancestry for the famous and infamous with an emphasis on where those people roamed. Links to online sources included, with subscriber-only links into HistoryGeo.com maps. Will also include how-to articles for HistoryGeo.com subscribers.

Honoring Our Ancestors - Celebrity Roots

Famous individuals, past and present - Jon Hamm, Katy Perry, Bruno Mars, Joe Biden, the Obamas, Annie Moore, Martha Stewart, Josh Groban, Pink, Jon Stewart, sailors on the USS Monitor, etc. Articles by Megan Smolenyak Smolenyak.

Legacy QuickGuide: Researching the Family Legend $

The Researching the Family Legend Legacy QuickGuide