Eastern Europe » How To

Familienforschung in Orten ohne Kirchenbücher: Methodische Einführung

Methodical introduction and examples for genealogical resarch in Central European villages without parish registers.

FamilySearch - Help Center - Learning Center ^FREE

Hundreds of free online genealogy courses. Enter a keyword in the search box to see a list of lessons for that topic.

FEEFHS Conference Information

FEEFHS - Foundation for East European Family History Studies

Find Lost Russian & Ukrainian Family

Uncovering the secrets of finding family and records in the former USSR. A blog by Vera Miller.

Legacy QuickGuide: Croatian Genealogy $

Croatian research is one of the most challenging yet rewarding areas for the family historian. The historical influence of many different nations, peoples and cultures and the variety of languages found within Croatian records can test the skills of even an experienced genealogist. Yet those who persevere are often greatly rewarded: Croatia

Legacy QuickGuide: Hungarian Genealogy $

Lisa / Smallest Leaf

Legacy QuickGuide: Ukrainian Genealogy $

To ensure success, you will need to utilize a variety of print and online resources. The Ukrainian Genealogy Legacy QuickGuide

This is no fish tale: Gefilte tastes tell story of ancestry

Onlne article from the Jewish Telegraphic Agency. Explains the geographic divide between taste preferences in gefilte fish in Eastern Europe as well as other clues to Jewish geographic origins including prayer books, head coverings, and tombstone shapes.