Death Records » Locality Specific: United States » Illinois

Ancestry.com - Cook County, Illinois Death Index, 1908-1988 $

Original source: Cook County Clerk. Cook County Clerk Genealogy Records. Cook County Clerk

Chicago Police Department Homicide Record, 1870

Compiled by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository System, Northeastern Illinois University.

Cook County Clerk's Office - Vital Records - Frequently Asked Questions

The Cook County Clerk's office provides non-certified copies of vital records for the purpose of genealogical research.

Cook County Coroner's Inquest Record Index 1872-1911

Compiled by the Illinois Regional Archives Depository System, Northeastern Illinois University.

Elmer E.Garst

Stanford, McLean Co., IL, birth and death dates of hundreds of residents taken from the record book of Elmer E. Garst. From the McLean County Genealogical Society.

FamilySearch - Free Family History and Genealogy Records

FamilySearch - Illinois, Cook County Deaths, 1878-1922 ^FREE

Name index and images of deaths recorded at Cook County, Illinois - including the City of Chicago. Deaths for Cook County (excluding the City of Chicago) are missing for the years 1910-1915.

FamilySearch - Illinois, Deaths and Stillbirths, 1916-1947 ^FREE

Name index of deaths and stillbirths in Illinois, 1916-1947. Includes records for Cook County and Chicago.

FamilySearch - Illinois, Diocese of Belleville, Catholic Parish Records, 1729-1956 ^FREE

Images of parish registers recording the events of baptism, first communion, confirmation (to 1907), marriage (to 1930) or death (to 1956) in the Diocese of Belleville (Illinois), Roman Catholic Church. The index to some volumes may reference pages within a given volume beyond our current publication dates. As such, these images are not currently available. In addition to traditional parish registers, this collection includes a small number of census, church history, family and financial records.

FamilySearch - Illinois, Tazewell County, Obituary Card Index from the "Pekin Times", 1914-2007 ^FREE

Images of an obituary card index at the Pekin Public Library.

Illinois Department of Public Health - Birth, Death and Other Records

Provides contact information, fees, and printable forms for obtaining vital records certificates from Illinois.

Illinois State Archives Databases - Illinois Death Certificates, 1916

This database provides listings of death certificates filed with the Illinois Department of Public Health between 1916 and 1950. As a result of 1989 legislation, that agency makes available for public inspection at the Illinois State Archives only copies of death certificates produced 50 years ago or longer (410 Illinois Compiled Statutes 535/24).

Illinois State Archives Databases - Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre–1916

The pre–1916 Illinois death index is an ongoing project coordinated by the Illinois State Archives. The sources for this index include original county clerks' death records, such as death registers and licenses.

Illinois State Archives Databases - Mattoon Death Certificate Registers Index (1899

The database indexes nearly 3,600 death records that were recorded by the local registrar in the City of Mattoon.

Online Chicago & Cook County Death Indexes & Records (Illinois)

Directory of online Cook County death indexes, obituaries & cemetery listings.

Pape Family Funeral Home : Danville, Illinois - Genealogy Search

Searchable database of 275,000+ records for births, marriages, deaths, and burials, mostly taken from obituaries to assist with tracing family roots connected to the Danville, Vermilion, Illinois area.

PGSA - Dziennik Chicagoski Death Notice Index Search 1890-1929

Death notices from Chicago's Polish daily newspaper.

PGSA - Dziennik Chicagoski Death Notice Index Search 1930-1971

Death notices from Chicago's Polish daily newspaper.

Records Room: Illinois Counties, United States

Secret Death Records - Not Listed on the Social Security Death Index

Searchable index of more than 15 million death records from California, Florida, Illinois, Maine and Texas that are not listed on the government's Social Security Death Index.