Canada » Provinces » British Columbia » Census

1871 Victoria (BC, Canada) Census

Transcription of heads of household.

1918 Census of Independent Doukhobors

A book by Jonathan Kalmakoff. 1918 Census of Independent Doukhobors provides family historians and genealogists with a guide to Independent Doukhobors living in Western Canada. The book contains over 6,600 names taken from the provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.

Ancestry.com

Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.

Automated Genealogy

Indices to Canadian Censuses.

Census Online - British Columbia

Findmypast - Canada Census 1881 $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Findmypast - Canada Census 1891 $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Findmypast - Canada Census 1901 $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Findmypast - Canada Census 1911 $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Guide to Doukhobor Census Records

This index describes various Doukhobor census records in Canada - their historical background, dates, content, usefulness and reliability, availability and published indexes.

Library and Archives Canada - About the 1911 Census

This online database of 1911 census data from Library and Archives Canada allows researchers to search by geographic location only. As this is not a name index database, it is not searchable by family name. The information on these images can be used to prepare family or town/village histories, research immigration trends and a great deal more. The Fifth General Census of Canada began on June 1, 1911 and collected information related to each inhabitant of the country, including place of habitation, marital status, age, place of birth, religion, occupation, education, etc. The Census of Canada 1911 covered the nine provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island) and two territories (the Yukon and the Northwest Territories) that were then part of Confederation. The creation of the microfilms from the original returns was authorized in 1955 with the paper records destroyed afterwards. The microfilming of these records was not of consistent quality and therefore not all images are decipherable. Unfortunately, the destruction of the paper records means that there is no recourse when a record is unreadable.

viHistory : Census

This section of the viHistory site provides access to a searchable database of nominal census records for Vancouver Island from 1871, 1881, 1891, 1901 & 1911.