Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Indiana
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Indiana:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Indiana Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Indiana
- Ancestor Search - Indiana Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Indiana
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Indiana Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- County History Preservation Society Home Page - Indiana History & Pioneer Families
Promoting all 92 Indiana counties, includes maps, histories, images and growing number of late 1800s biographies.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Indiana Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Indiana
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Indiana
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Indiana Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Indiana
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Indiana Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Indiana Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Indiana
- Indiana Biographies
- Indiana Local History and Genealogy Research Guide
- Indiana Migrations Project
- Kentuckiana Genealogy WebRing ~ Kentucky & Indiana
- Kindred Trails - Indiana Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Indiana Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Indiana
- Looking 4 Kin - Indiana
- Michiana Roots
Website devoted to genealogical and historical research in southwestern Michigan and northern Indiana.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Indiana
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Indiana
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - INGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Indiana in Databases or Indiana in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Indiana State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Access Indiana Information Network
State of Indiana.
- Association of Indiana Counties
- Court Web Sites - Indiana
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Indiana: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- The Governors of Indiana
- Indiana Association of Cities & Towns Website
- Indiana Clerks of the Circuit Court
From the Indiana Commission on Public Records State Archives Division. Includes address and telephone contact information.
- NACo - About Counties - Indiana
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Indiana
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Indiana
- Yahoo! Get Local...Indiana Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- Evansville, Indiana - Local History Database
- The First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820
Consists of 15,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West including Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky & West Virginia from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century.
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Indiana
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- The Historic National Road
Focuses on the Indiana portion of the National Road.
- Indiana Historical Bureau
- The History of Indiana
A historical overview of Indiana from Native American inhabitants
through the twentieth century. Article by Rickie Lazzerini.
- Indiana History Timeline
- Taming The Wilderness: Roads
Early roads in Indiana.
- Yahoo!...History...Indiana
- Allen County Public Library ~ Fort Wayne
- Archives of the University of Notre Dame
- Center for the Study of History and Memory at Indiana University
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Indiana
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Indiana Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Indiana Public Libraries
- Indiana Postal History Society ~ Bloomington
- Indiana State Archives
- Indiana State Library
Indianapolis, Indiana.
- Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites
- Indiana University Libraries - Bloomington
- Kentuckiana Digital Library
The Kentuckiana Digital Library is built to enhance scholarship, research and lifelong learning through the establishment of access to shared digital archival collections in the state of Kentucky. Collections and subsets of collections selected will have a strong Kentucky orientation as well as broad appeal on geographic, content and study levels. The materials will be unique or not widely available.
- Lewis Historical Library - Vincennes University
- LIBCAT: US - Indiana
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Indiana
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Lily Library
At Wabash College.
- Archives
Holds the archives of the Horsethief Detective Association.
- Mennonite Historical Library ~ Goshen
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Indiana
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Indiana
- Northern Indiana Center for History ~ South Bend
- PublicLibraries.com - Indiana
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Indiana
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- United Brethren Historical Center
Huntington University, Indiana.
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
IN-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Indiana.
-
IN-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating, and preserving historical information about, Indiana cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-CEMETERY-PRESERVATION Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the preservation of historic Indiana cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Indiana census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
IN-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Indiana census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the role of Indiana and its people during the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
INDIANA For for anyone interested in discussing genealogy in the State of Indiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
INDIANA_BIO Mailing List For the discussion of the Indiana Biographies Project which gathers biographies of Indiana citizens. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-FREEDMEN Mailing List For with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Indiana from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-GENSOC-NEWS For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Indiana Genealogical Society and genealogical resources available in Indiana. Genealogical queries relating to Indiana will also be accepted on the list. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Indiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Indiana newspapers published prior to 1931.
-
IN-OLD-NEWSPAPERS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in old Indiana newspapers and the persons who worked for them. Archives: browse or search.
-
INPCRP Mailing List For anyone interested in the Indiana Pioneer Cemeteries Restoration Project. Archives: browse or search.
-
IN-RAILROADS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in old Indiana railroads and their workers. Archives: browse or search.
-
INROOTS-L Mailing List
-
MIBERRIEAREA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical and/or historical interest in the Berrien County, Michigan, area including surrounding areas both in Michigan and Indiana. Archives: browse or search.
-
OHIO-RIVER-VALLEY-FAMILIES Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
- Indiana Genealogies
MSN community message boards. Mostly queries.
- Kentuckiana Genealogy Mail Lists
Mailing lists for counties, surnames and topics pertaining to the Kentuckiana area.
- Yahoo! Groups: Indiana Genealogy
- 6th Indiana History
Regimental history of the 6th Indiana Infantry.
- 13th Indiana Cavalry (131st Regiment Volunteers)
Brief history of the regiment.
- 14th Indiana Regiment
- 18th Indiana Infantry Regiment
- 19th Indiana Volunteer Infantry - Company A
- 27th Indiana Volunteer Infantry
- The 42nd Indiana Volunteer Infantry
A complete roster, pictures, letters, diaries, etc.
- 42nd Indiana Volunteer Infantry - Army of the Cumberland, U.S.A.
- 47th Indiana Volunteer Infantry
History of the 47th Indiana Volunteers (Slack's Brigade) including photos, Co. H roster, links to battle info and other sites.
- 49th Indiana Volunteer Infantry, 'Company F' - Reenactment Unit
- 50th Indiana Infantry Regiment
- 54th Indiana Infantry - 54th Regiment of Indiana Volunteer Infantry
Complete history of the 1 year regiment, including all rosters (HOOVER, LOER, MANSFIELD, POPE, WAGSTAFF to name a few), dates and places. Contains dates and places of birth, marriage, death and burial of soldiers from the regiment. Has casualty lists, next of kin and pension information.
- 80th Indiana Volunteer Infantry - An American Civil War Regiment
Includes history, rosters, and images of this regiment and its soldiers from Davies, Gibson, Greene, Knox, Martin, Pike, and Posey counties from southwest Indiana.
- 1900 Indiana Spanish American War Roster
Roster of the State of Indiana Spanish American War c. 1898-1900 Lists when many of the soldiers went in and or went out, colored section, and also what unit they were in & what state they were from.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Indiana
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Indiana
- Civil War Indiana
- Civil War letters of the "Blountsville Boys", Henry, County, Indiana
Many were written by Allen Wesley Galyean.
- Civil War Rosters - Indiana
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Index to the George Rogers Clark Papers - The Illinois Regiment
- Indiana Soldiers 1750-1899
- Indiana Volunteer Infantry 10th Regiment Co. E
- Indiana State Library - WWII Servicemen Database
Online searchable index on Indiana men and women who served in World War II who were mentioned in one of the Indianapolis daily newspapers during the war. Approximately 26,000 names are included.
- Jasper County Indiana Library GAR Records
Below is a table of information on the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.) Society of veterans who fought for the north in the Civil War (1861-1865), Jasper County Post #84. Information was taken from the Jasper County G.A.R. applications.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Indiana
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Ninth Regiment Infantry Indiana Volunteers Company E
- SJCPL - Service Notes
From the Saint Joseph County Public Library, Indiana. Searchable index to the "Service Notes" column that ran in the South Bend Tribune from World War II through the Vietnam conflict.
- State Archives Civil War Resources
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Indiana
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Indiana
- ABYZ News Links - Indiana - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Catholic Newspapers in Microform: A Directory of Works at Notre Dame
- Footnote.com - Indiana Newspapers
Monon News, North Manchester News-Journal, Royal Centre Record, Warren Republican, Warren Weekly. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Indiana
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Indiana
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Indiana
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Indiana
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Indiana
- NewspaperLinks.com - Indiana
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Indiana News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- Newspaper Section: Online Newspapers
Listing of Indiana online newspapers from the Indiana State Library.
- The Olden Times: Old News from Indiana
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Indiana
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Indiana Newspapers
- The Shelbyville News Online
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Indiana Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Indiana Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Indiana
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
- The Hoosier Genealogist
A quarterly publication devoted to information on Hoosier family history from the Indiana Historical Society.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Indiana
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Indiana
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Indiana
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Indiana
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Ann McRoden Mensch, Professional Genealogist
Researching at the Allen County Public Library.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Indiana or Specializing in Indiana
- CBL Research
Professional genealogical researcher. Will research anywhere, especially Ohio, Indiana, Kentucky. Types of research include family history, missing heirs, court work and background work for documentaries and authors.
- CompuGen Systems : Indiana & Ohio City Directories Available
Pay-for-search service of Indiana city directories, county directories, telephone directories & plat books.
- Genealogical Research by Write Result Presentations
For consultation, record searches, research projects and professional reporting focusing on Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana and Mississippi.
- Genealogically Yours ~ Knightstown, Indiana
Emphasis on Indiana and eastern United States. Quaker research. Seminars.
- Genealogy Professional Amy Long Genealogist#160;
Expert in Indiana, Kentucky & Texas research.
- Genealogy Professional Ohio Indiana Kentucky Research: Bruce Earnheart Genealogist
Professional research for Midwestern USA southwest Ohio, eastern Indiana and northern Kentucky.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Heritage Pathways, Inc., Genealogy and Local History Services
Located in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Professional research for Indiana, southern Michigan, northwestern Ohio, and northeastern Illinois. The site also features tutorials for PERSI, file transcription and publications for sale.
- Historian and Genealogist for Hire
Northern Indiana research done at the Allen County IN Public Library.
- Indiana Land Records Search by CompuGen Systems
- Indiana & Ohio Newspaper Search by CompuGen Systems
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Indiana
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
- Roots4u.com
Dr. Michael D. Lacopo of northern Indiana. Research experience involving Mennonite families, Pennsylvania Germans and Midwest/Middle Atlantic research (IN, OH, IL, MI, and PA), proficient in reading German script.
- Stonehugger Cemetery Restoration
Tombstone restoration specialist with repair of old marble and limestone monuments, grave markers, and statuary found in Pioneer Cemeteries.
- Stone Saver Cemetery Restoration
Cemetery restoration and tombstone repair specializing in old marble and limestone monuments and grave markers found in Pioneer Cemeteries.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Indiana
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Abstracts of the Records of the Society of Friends in Indiana
A book by Ruth Dorrel.
- Cedar Grove Cemetery Inscriptions So Bend Indiana
A book by Gene Szymarek.
- From Needmore to Prosperity: Hoosier Place Names in Folklore and History
A book by Ronald L. Baker.
- Frontier Indiana (History of the Trans-Appalachian Frontier)
A book by Andrew R. L. Cayton.
- A Guide to Manuscript Collections of the Indiana Historical Society and Indiana State Library
A book by Eric Pumroy.
- Guide to Public Vital Statistics Records in Indiana
A book by the Indiana Historical Records Survey Division.
- Homeless, Friendless, and Penniless: The WPA Interviews with Former Slaves Living in Indiana
A book by Ronald L. Baker.
- Index, 1840 Federal Population Census, Indiana
A book by Indiana Historical Society.
- Index: Indiana Source Books
A book by Indiana Historical Society.
- An Index to Naturalization Records in Pre-1907 Indiana County Courts
A book by the Indiana Historical Society.
- Indiana, 1816-1850: The Pioneer Era (History of Indiana)
A book by Donald F. Carmony.
- Indiana: Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
A book by John H. Long.
- Indiana Genealogy and Local History Sources Index
A book by Stuart Harter.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. I: Genealogical Material from the Hoosier Genealogist, 1961-1966
A book by Willard Heiss.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. II: Genealogical Material from the Hoosier Genealogist, 1967-1972
A book by by Willard Heiss.
- Indiana Source Book Volume III
A book by Willard Heiss.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. 4: Genealogical Material from the Hoosier Genealogist, 1979-1981
A book by Rebah M. Fraustein.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. 5: From 1982 through 1984 Issues of the Hoosier Genealogist
A book by Rebah M. Fraustein.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. 6: Genealogical Material from the Hoosier Genealogist, 1985-1988
A book by Ruth Dorrel.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. 7: Genealogical Material from the Hoosier Genealogist, 1989-1990
A book by Ruth Dorrel.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. 8: Material from the Hoosier Genealogist, 1991-1992
A book by Ruth Dorrel.
- Indiana Source Book, Vol. 9: From 1993 through 1994 Issues of the Hoosier Genealogist
A book by Indiana Historical Society.
- Indiana Sources for Genealogical Research in the Indiana State Library
A book by Carolynne I. Wendel Miller.
- Indiana Vital Records: Selected Counties & Years
A CD-ROM by Ancestry.
- The Indiana Way: A State History
A book by James H. Madison.
- Maps of Indiana Counties in 1876
A book by Indiana Historical Society.
- Research in Indiana
A book by John D. Beatty.
- Who's Your Hoosier Ancestor?: Genealogy for Beginners
A book by Mona Robinson.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Indiana
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Indiana
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Indiana
- Books We Own - Indiana
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Indiana
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Early Marriage Records in Indiana
Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for Indiana Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Indiana
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Genealogy / Local History Publications By Stuart Harter
- Greater Cincinnati Connections
Genealogy related items for Ohio, Kentucky & Indiana.
- Heritage Books: Indiana
- Higginson Book Company - Indiana
- Indiana Historical Society - Publications
- Mountain Press - Indiana
Free Surname Search for many Indiana genealogy books. Information available for the Black Hawk Wars and Hamilton County.
- Northcott Genealogical Publications - Grand Army of the Republic Death Rolls Books
Transcription of the Death Rolls from the published Proceedings of the Annual Encampments of the departments of the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.).
- Pre-1882 Indiana Births From Secondary Sources, Volume 1 and Volume 2
A book series by Dawne Slater-Putt, CG, Heritage Pathways, Inc.
- Quintin Publications | Indiana
- Research in Indiana
A book by John D. Beaty from Research In the States, a series of the National Genealogical Society.
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Indiana
- Twin Publications - Letters from Elmiras Trunk: An Indiana Family in the Civil War
- Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe - Indiana
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- African American Cemeteries Online - Indiana
- Brett's Cemetery Photos
Selected photos from Indiana, Kansas, Idaho & Missouri.
- Cemetery Junction: Indiana Cemeteries
A list of links and addresses for cemeteries in the state.
- Cemetery Listings
Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, North Carolina, Ohio, and Oklahoma. List includes tombstone pictures / photos for: Arkansas (Benton & Carroll County); Colorado (Pueblo County); Kansas (Reno & Wilson County); Missouri (Barry, Jasper, McDonald, & Phelps County); Oklahoma (Alfalfa, Dewey, & Major County).
- ePodunk - Cemeteries
Listing of cemeteries in the state.
- Find-A-Grave by Location: Indiana
Graves of noteworthy people.
- FSN Funeral Homes - Indiana
- Funeral Services Providers - Indiana
A directory of funeral service providers including funeral homes and cemeteries.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Indiana Cemeteries
- The Indiana Pioneer Cemeteries Restoration Project
- Indiana State Library - Genealogy Collection
- iMortuary.com - Cemetery Directory - Indiana Cemeteries
- iMortuary.com - Funeral Home Directory - Indiana Funeral Homes
- Interment.net: Indiana Cemeteries
Online archive of cemetery transcriptions, with dates and names of people interred in local cemeteries. Also links to related materials online.
- The Political Graveyard - Cemeteries in Indiana
- Preplanning Network - Funeral Home and Cemetery Directory - Indiana
- Saving Graves - Indiana
- Tombstone Central
Hundreds of Kentucky death certificates and thousands of tombstone photographs from 10 different states.
- USA Funeral Homes Online Directory - Indiana
- US Funerals Online - Indiana
US Funeral Guide & Comprehensive Funeral Homes Directory.
- USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project - Indiana
- AccessGenealogy - Indiana Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Indiana
-
Ancestry.com - Indiana Census, 1790-1890 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- Census of the Indiana Territory for 1807
E-mail Jerry Mounts at jmounts@holli.com with specific details and he will do a lookup for you. The counties at that time were: Dearborn, Clark, Knox and Randolph in Illinois.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Indiana
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Indiana:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- Index, 1840 Federal Population Census, Indiana
A book by Indiana Historical Society.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
- ICPR: Land Records ~ Indiana
A variety of online searchable databases from the Indiana Commission on Public Records.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Indiana
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Indiana. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- The Bureau of Land Management -- Eastern States, General Land Office
The Official Land Patent Records Site. This site has a searchable database of over two million pre-1908 Federal land title records, including scanned images of those records. The Eastern Public Land States covered in this database are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin.
- Central State Hospital - Indiana Hospital for the Insane
Will have a Commitment Records Database online in the future for 1848-1920.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Indiana
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Famous burials in Indiana
- Indiana Commission on Public Records - Indiana State Archives - Collections - Land Records - Overview of the Collections
The State Archives contains a wide variety of land records. As Indiana was a public domain state, virtually every acre was surveyed and then sold or otherwise granted by the federal government before settlement. The only exceptions are the lands around Vincennes settled by the French and George Rogers Clark's Grant around Clarksville.
- Land Office Records at the Indiana State Archives
- Military Service Notes
From the Saint Joseph County Public Library, Indiana. During World War II the South Bend Tribune began a short column entitled "Service Notes" which appeared almost daily. They were designed to give information about South Bend and Mishawaka people who were being drafted, had entered the service, had been promoted, or located to other areas.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Indiana Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- ObitsArchive.com - Indiana
 The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Indiana Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Indiana
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com - Indiana Marriages to 1850 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- Indiana pre-1850 Marriage Index Hints
Article discusses some techniques for effectively searching the pre-1850 Indiana Marriage Index.
- Indiana State Department of Health: Birth and Death Certificates
Provides fees, availability, and contact information for obtaining these certificates in Indiana.
- Indiana State Library - Genealogy Collection
- Indiana WPA Indexes
- Using the Indiana Pre-1850 Marriage Index
Article by Michael John Neill.
- MyVitalRec.com - Indiana Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Indiana
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Indiana
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Indiana Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Indiana
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
- Canal Society of Indiana
- Genealogical Societies in Indiana
- Historic Southern Indiana
Vincennes, Corydon, New Harmony, Madison, and Abraham Lincoln's boyhood home.
- Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society
A Jewish genealogical society covering Chicago's southern suburbs and northwest Indiana.
- Indiana Daughters of the American Revolution
- Indiana Freemasons Online
- Indiana Genealogical Society
- Indiana Historical Bureau
- Indiana Historical Society
- Indiana Postal History Society ~ Bloomington
- Independent Order of Odd Fellows - Indiana
Jurisdictions for the IOOF, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Rebekahs.
- Italian Heritage Society of Indiana
- Kentuckiana Society of the Order of Founders and Patriots of America
- Magna Charta Dames and Barons Society, Indiana Division
Indiana Division, lineage society. Membership based on lineal blood descent from 1 of 25 Sureties for the Magna Charta or from a Baron, Prelate, Knight or other influential person present on the field of Runnemede in June 1215 on behalf of the Charter.
- Midwest Archives Conference
- Monon Railroad Historical Technical Society ~ Linden
The Chicago, Indianapolis & Louisville Railroad.
- Nickel Plate Road Historical & Technical Society ~ New Haven
- Old Northwest Historical Society ~ Ohio
Dedicated to preserving and perpetuating the history of the Old Northwest Territory. The region northwest of the Ohio river that became the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin.
- SAGA-OMII Genealogical Association
Swiss Anabaptist Genealogical Association centered around Ohio, Michigan, Indiana and Illinois, focusing on mostly Swiss Mennonite descendants.
- Society Hill: Indiana Genealogy
A list of addresses for genealogical and historical societies in the state.
- Society of Indiana Archivists
- Society of Indiana Pioneers ~ Indianapolis
- Sons of the Revolution in the State of Indiana
- Tri-State Genealogical Society
Indiana, Illinois and Kentucky.
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|