Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Illinois
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Illinois:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Illinois Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Illinois
- Ancestor Search - Illinois Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Illinois
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Illinois Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Illinois Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Illinois
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- Genealogy and Family History Research in Illinois
- GenealogyBank.com - Illinois
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Illinois Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Illinois
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Illinois Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Illinois Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Illinois
- Illinois Family History Research: Place Names of the Northeast 25 Counties
The detail of every town and township (former name, present name, township, date of incorporation, elevation, railroads, Post Office dates of operation, present mailing address, 1990 population) known to have existed is listed alphabetically by county, and all sources are cited. Please keep in mind it was typical to have several towns by the same common name scattered across the state, so if you are looking for 19th century towns on a 21st century map you are creating your own brick walls.
- Illinois GenExchange
- Illinois Trails History and Genealogy
Illinois Trails is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing free, online access to historical and genealogical records.
- Kindred Trails - Illinois Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Illinois Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Illinois
- Looking 4 Kin - Illinois
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Illinois
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Illinois
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - ILGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Illinois in Databases or Illinois in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Illinois State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Illinois
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Illinois: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Illinois
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Illinois
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Illinois
- USA CityLink Project - Illinois
- Yahoo! Get Local...Illinois Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Chicago & Illinois Midland Railfan Pages
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- Coal Mining in Illinois
- The First American West: The Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820
Consists of 15,000 pages of original historical material documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West including Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky & West Virginia from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century.
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Illinois
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Illinois History
A Historical Overview of Illinois from Native American Inhabitants through World War II. Article by Rickie Lazzerini.
- IllinoisHistory.com
- Illinois History Pages
- The Illinois History Resource Page
- Illinois History Timeline
- Yahoo!...History...Illinois
- Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum ~ Springfield, Illinois
The Library is a public, non-circulating research facility that contains material on all aspects of Illinois' history. Particularly noteworthy are the Library's holdings in published resources, manuscripts, newspapers, audiovisual & Lincolniana.
- American Theological Library Association ~ Chicago
- Augustana College Library
- Billy Graham Center Archives ~Wheaton
- Directory of Archives and Manuscripts Repositories in the St. Louis Area
- Every Library in Illinois
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Illinois
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Illinois Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Illinois Rail Museum ~ Union
- Illinois State Archives
- Illinois State Historical Library
- Illinois State Library
- Illinois State Museum
- Index of Repositories in the St. Louis Area ~ Missouri
From the Association of St. Louis Area Archivists. Links to repostitories, contact information, and description of holdings.
- LIBCAT: US - Illinois
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Illinois
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Illinois
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Illinois
- North Suburban Library System (NSLS)
- PublicLibraries.com - Illinois
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Illinois
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
DUTCH-MIDWEST Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the ancestors and descendants of the Dutch immigrants (ca.1850 to WWI) who settled in the Chicago (Roseland) and South Holland, Illinois area and other Dutch 'colonies' in the surrounding states. Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Illinois.
-
IL-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone searching for their ancestors in Illinois cemeteries and anyone interested in preserving historical information about Illinois cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Illinois census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
IL-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Illinois census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-CIVIL-WAR Mailing List For Civil War researchers in Illinois. Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Illinois from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Illinois. Archives: browse or search.
-
ILLINOIS-ROOTS-L Mailing List
-
IL-LONGNINE Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the ancestors and descendants of the "Long Nine", a group of legislators from Sangamon County, Illinois, that included Senators Archer G. Herndon and Job Fletcher and Representatives Abraham Lincoln, Ninian Wirt Edwards, John Dawson, Andrew McCormick, Dan Stone, William F. Elkin, and Robert L. Wilson. The name "The Long Nine" comes from the fact that these men averaged six feet in height and weighed over 200 pounds. Their efforts in the 1836-1838 legislative session were successful in moving the State capital from Vandalia to Springfield. Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Illinois newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
ILROOTS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Illinois. Archives: browse or search.
-
ILROUTE66 Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Illinois in order to help find ancestors and learn about Illinois in the process. Archives: browse or search.
-
IL-Traces Mailing List A tool of the ILGenWeb Archives. Items posted on this list will be placed in the archives files online. Archives: browse or search.
-
MadeiraExiles Mailing List Devoted to the research of Dr. Robert Reid Kalley's Portuguese Presbyterian exiles from Madeira, Portugal who emigrated to Trinidad and then to Illinois (ca. 1846-1854). Archives: browse or search.
-
OHIO-RIVER-VALLEY-FAMILIES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the families that resided or currently reside in the Ohio River Valley which starts in Pennsylvania and borders the states of Ohio, West Virginia, Kentucky, Indiana, and Illinois. Archives: browse or search.
-
SAR-IL Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Illinois Chapter of the Sons of the American Revolution and genealogical resources related to these activities. Archives: browse or search.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Illinois
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Illinois
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Illinois
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Illinois
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Illinois
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Find Illinois County for Specified City
- Gleason's Old Maps, Etc.
Photocopies of Old Maps, Prints and Articles of Historical and Genealogical Interest from Illinois.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Illinois County Boundaries 1790 - Present
Series of maps showing the development of Illinois counties from 1790 to present.
- Illinois Family History Research: Place Names of the 33 Western Counties
Place names: Elevation, Incorporation Date, Former Names, Later Name, Post Office Dates of Operation, Population, Railroads, Rural Route, Towns, Townships, US Post Offices 1859/60, Zip Code, this listing offers every town and and township that ever existed in Illinois and is grouped by the county.
- Illinois Family History Research: Place Names of the 44 Southeast Counties
Place names: Elevation, Incorporation Date, Former Names, Later Name, Post Office Dates of Operation, Population, Railroads, Rural Route, Towns, Townships, US Post Offices 1859/60, Zip Code, this listing offers every town and and township that ever existed in Illinois and is grouped by the county.
- Illinois Family History Research: Place Names of Each Illinois County
Place names of Illinois: each county now has "last updated date" at the beginning of each county listing, this listing offers every town and and township that ever existed in Illinois and is grouped by the county.
- Illinois Family History Research: Place Names of the Northeast 25 Counties
Place names: Elevation, Incorporation Date, Former Names, Later Name, Post Office Dates of Operation, Population, Railroads, Rural Route, Towns, Townships, US Post Offices 1859/60, Zip Code, each county now has "last updated date" at the beginning of each county listing, this listing offers every town and and township that ever existed in Illinois and is grouped by the county.
- Map of Illinois Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Illinois
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Illinois Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
- Range Maps for Dummies
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Illinois County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Illinois
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Illinois
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 4th Illinois Volunteer Cavalry
- 7th Illinois Cavalry
- 9th Illinois Cavalry
- 17th Illinois Infantry
- The 40th Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry
Provides name, company, rank, age, place of birth, marital status, physical description, occupation and more.
- 48th Illinois Infantry
- 55th Illinois Infantry
- 59th Illinois Infantry
- 74th Illinois Infantry
- 75th Illinois Infantry
- The 89th Illinois Infantry Regiment at the Battles of Stones River and Liberty Gap, Tennessee
- 129th Illinois Infantry Regiment
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Battery G, 2nd Illinois Light Artillery
Contains a regimental history, rosters by county and by surname, partial cemetery records, and soon, biographical sketches.
- The Battle of Pickett's Mill, Georgia
This examines the role of the 89th Illinois Infantry Regiment in the Battle of Pickett's Mill, Georgia (May 27th, 1864).
- Camp Douglas, Illinois
Prison camp and training camp.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Illinois
- Civil War Rosters - Illinois
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Confederate Burials in Mound City National Cemetery
- Grand Army of the Republic in Illinois
Lists GAR posts in Illinois.
- History of 48th Illinois Infantry
- History of Ninety-Ninth Infantry
- History of the Seventy-Sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry Regiment
- Illinois and the American Civil War
- Illinois in the Civil War
- Illinois in the Civil War
A USGenWeb and ILGenWeb project to put rosters online.
- Illinois Soldiers' and Sailors' Home (Illinois Veteran's Home)
- Illinois Soldiers in the Black Hawk War 1831-32 & Mexican War 1846-8
Identifies men, alphabetically, who lived in Illinois and fought in the Black Hawk War (early 1830's). Also gives county they lived in.
- Illinois State Archives Online Databases
- Illinois Trails Military
Military records for the state of Illinois. Includes Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWII and misc.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Illinois
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Lineages.com - War of 1812 Bounty Land Grants
Searchable database of 17,158 bounty land grants in the Illinois Military Tract for War of 1812 service.
- The Memoirs, Diary, and Life of Private Jefferson Moses,Company G, 93rd Illinois Volunteers
- Names of Richland County Soldiers who fought at the Siege of Vicksburg ~ Richland, Illinois
- Ninety-Ninth Infantry Regiment of Illinois Volunteers, Muster Roll of Company "D"
- Recruitment of Illinois Regiments - Civil War, 1861-1865 - County Search or see these databases to search by company:
- Seventh Illinois Mounted Infantry, Enlisted Men of Company "H"
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Illinois
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Illinois
- ABYZ News Links - Illinois - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Danish Pioneer - Den Danske Pioneer - Oldest Danish-American Newspaper in USA
- Footnote.com - Illinois Newspapers
Arthur Graphic-Clarion, Atwood Herald, Chicago Tribune, Times, Trenton Sun. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- History of Newspaper Publishing in Illinois
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Illinois
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Illinois
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- Illinois Newspaper Project
- Illinois Newspaper Project - Chicago
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Illinois
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Illinois
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Illinois
- NewspaperLinks.com - Illinois
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Illinois News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Illinois
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Illinois Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Illinois Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Illinois Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Illinois
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Illinois
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Illinois
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Illinois
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Illinois
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Illinois or Specializing in Illinois
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Grave Finder's Genealogy Researchers
Genealogy Researchers with over 30 years experience. We have access to records for Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma. We also have access to some of the records for Iowa, Illinois, Ohio and West Virginia. We are available to take pictures of headstones.
- Heartland Genealogical Services
Rick T. Allen C.G.R.S., Golconda, Illinois.
- Heritage Pathways, Inc., Genealogy and Local History Services
Located in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Professional research for Indiana, southern Michigan, northwestern Ohio, and northeastern Illinois. The site also features tutorials for PERSI, file transcription and publications for sale.
- Illinois Genealogical Research by Mollx
- Karen Chappell, Genealogy Consultant
Specializing in research in Southern Illinois and Central Florida.
- Kathy BRADY-BLAKE, Genealogist
I am a professional genealogist working in the Chicago area. I perform problem analysis, record look-ups, cemetery photography and related services.
- Kinfolk's Korner Genealogy Services
Genealogy Services offered by Kinfolks Korner by Joyce C. Wicks, CGRS,(sm) in Champaign, Illinois and nearby counties. Champaign County is located in East Central Illinois. Services include research, organizing existing research, publishing unpublished documented genealogy records and other related services.
- A Loving Journey, Adoption Reunion Searching
Discreet, compassionate searching available to reunite families separated by adoption. Serving states of California, Hawaii, Illinios, Ohio, Oregon, Texas and Utah.
- Mike Karsen - Professional Genealogy Speaker
Specializes in "Writing Your Family History" and in "Jewish/Chicago" topics.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Illinois
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Research Service - Karen Chappell's Census Research Service
A census research service which provides professional, economical, service with a quick turn around time for busy researchers. Specializing in the South, and East, including the state of Illinois.
- Rhonda R. McClure Genealogical Services
Solid experience in most of the United States as well as Canada, France and Italy, with regional specialties in New England, New York, Midwest and Southern states. In addition to these regions, there are certain research specialties including immigrant research (going beyond the basic passenger lists), Native American research, compiling of family histories, and editing.
- Roots4u.com
Dr. Michael D. Lacopo of northern Indiana. Research experience involving Mennonite families, Pennsylvania Germans and Midwest/Middle Atlantic research (IN, OH, IL, MI, and PA), proficient in reading German script.
- Search & Genealogy Services - Juli Claussen
Independent professional genealogist specializing in tracing family history in the U.S.A. and back to home countries. On-site research in southern Illinois with document and archived obituary retrieval. Twenty+ years experience, member of Assoc. of Professional Genealogists and DAR.
- Wells Research Associates
In addition to local record offices and libraries, Ft. Wayne, Indiana, Madison and Milwaukee Wisconsin are all within easy driving distance.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Illinois
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Illinois
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Illinois
- Barnette's Family Tree Books - Illinois
- Books We Own - Illinois
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Illinois
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- Canal Heritage Enterprises
Books on early Northeastern Illinois Catholic Church history with lists of baptisms and marriages from 1833 to 1851.
- Early Marriage Index Books in Illinois
Books for sale on pre-1900 marriage records.
- eBay Listings: Search for Illinois Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- EcoLitGy Communications
Writings about central Illinois available in eBook format.
- Genealogical.com - Illinois
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Gorin Genealogical Publishing - Publications Index
Publications cover mostly Kentucky, also has some for Logan County, Illinois and Fentress & Overton Counties, Tennessee.
- Heritage Books: Illinois
- Higginson Book Company - Illinois
- Mountain Press - Illinois
Free Surname Search for Iliinois genealogy books. Information available for Greene and Montgomery Counties.
- Northcott Genealogical Publications - Grand Army of the Republic Death Rolls Books
Transcription of the Death Rolls from the published Proceedings of the Annual Encampments of the departments of the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.).
- Quintin Publications | Illinois
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Illinois
- Ye Olde Genealogie Shoppe - Illinois
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Illinois Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Illinois
-
Ancestry.com - Illinois Census, 1810-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Fragment ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Illinois
- Digitalarkivet - Norwegians in US
Searchable online database of 1850, 1860, 1870, and primarily 1880 US censuses for various states. Individuals listed are identified on the censuses as being from Norway.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
Census Schedules for Illinois:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 (partial) ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Addresses of County Courthouses in Illinois
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Illinois
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Illinois. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- The Bureau of Land Management -- Eastern States, General Land Office
The Official Land Patent Records Site. This site has a searchable database of over two million pre-1908 Federal land title records, including scanned images of those records. The Eastern Public Land States covered in this database are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Earliest Records in Illinois County Courthouses
- FTP Illinois - Federal Township Plats of Illinois (1804-1891)
Searchable database of 3,457 digitized federal township plats for Illinois.
- Ground Hog Bounty Certificates
From the Illinios State Archives. Certificates show the name of the person claiming the bounty, the date and township, the number of ground hogs killed, the amount of bounty paid, and the signature of the county clerk.
- Guarantee Company of North America - List of Shareholders 1890
Search for names of shareholders in 1890. Includes residences and details of shares. Shareholders residences are Quebec, Ontario, Nova Scotia, Pennsylvania, New York, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Connecticut and Illinois.
- Illinois State Archives
- Online Databases
- Database of Servitude and Emancipation Records 1722-1863
This database includes more than 2000 transactions found in governmental records involving the servitude and emancipation of Africans and, occasionally, Indians in the French and English eras of colonial Illinois (1722-1790) and African-Americans in the American period of Illinois (1790-1863).
- English Sparrow Bounty Certificates
From the Illinios State Archives. Certificates show the name of the person claiming the bounty, the date and township, the number of sparrows killed, the amount of bounty paid, and the signature of the county clerk.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales
Online searchable database of 550,000 land sales from the 54,740 square miles of the public domain sold within Illinois.
- Illinois Migrations Project
Submitted database of migrations into and out of Illinois.
- Lineages.com - War of 1812 Bounty Land Grants
Searchable free database of 17,158 bounty land grants in the Illinois Military Tract for War of 1812 service.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Illinois Counties, United States
- Slavery Era Insurance Policies Registry - Illinois Division of Insurance
Slavery Era Insurance Policies Registry by name and owner from 6 of 1700 insurers in the state of Illinois - policies issued to slaveholders for death or damage of their slaves that it wrote either directly or through a predecessor corporation during the slavery era; by name and owner.
- State of Illinois Corrections Inmate Search
Searchable database of current and some former inmates of Illinois prisons.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- Browning Genealogy: Evansville Area Obituary Search
Transcribed obituaries from Evansville, Indiana newspapers that cover Vanderburgh County, Indiana; Southwestern Indiana; Southern Illinois; Western Kentucky. Searchable by name of deceased and by the name of survivors.
- ObitsArchive.com - Illinois
 The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Illinois Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Ancestors at Rest - Death Records for Illinois
Coffin plates, funeral cards, death cards, wills, memorial cards, cemeteries, vital stats, obituaries, church records, family bibles, cenotaphs and tombstone inscriptions.
-
Ancestry.com - Illinois Marriages to 1850 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- I Dream of Genealogy - Illinois Marriage Records
Collection of Illinois marriage records and links.
- Illinois Department of Public Health - Vital Records
Provides contact information, fees, and printable forms for obtaining vital records certificates from Illinois.
- Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 19161950
- Illinois Statewide Marriage Index 1763-1900
An ongoing project of the Illinois State Archives and the Illinois State Genealogical Society. Not all counties are complete. The sources for this index include original county clerk's marriage records such as marriage registers and licenses as well as publications of county genealogical societies and private individuals.
- Illinois State Death Certificates
Copies of Illinois State Death Certificates (1916-1947) by mail.
- Illinois State Genealogical Society - Marriage Record Project
Searchable database of Illinois marriages 1793-1900.
- Illinois State Marriage Index Hints
Article by Michael John Neill describes some searching techniques for the free online Illinois Marriage Index (1761-1900 at the Illinois State Archives web site.
- MyVitalRec.com - Illinois Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- PGSA - Dziennik Chicagoski Death Notice Index Search 1890-1929
Death notices from Chicago's Polish daily newspaper.
- PGSA - Dziennik Chicagoski Death Notice Index Search 1930-1971
Death notices from Chicago's Polish daily newspaper.
- The Quincy Herald-Whig: Death Notices
- Using the Online Illinois Death Certificate Index
Article by Michael John Neill.
- VitalChek Network - Illinois
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Illinois
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Illinois Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Illinois
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
- American Historical Society of Germans from Russia - Northern Illinois Chapter
- The American Legion of Illinois
- Association of St. Louis Area Archivists
- BIGWILL - British Interest Group of Wisconsin and Illinois
An organization of individuals (mostly from Wisconsin and Illinois) who are interested in British Isles ancestry and genealogical research in the British Isles.
- CAGG-NI - Northern Illinois, USA
Computer Assisted Genealogy Group.
- Czech & Slovak American Genealogy Society of Illinois
- Eastland Disaster Historical Society
Historical overview of a Chicago and Great Lakes Steamliner Shipwreck - Chicago's greatest maritime disaster.
- Genealogical & Historical Societies of Illinois
- Genealogy Society of Southern Illinois (GSSI)
- Huguenot Society of Illinois
- Illiana Jewish Genealogical Society
A Jewish genealogical society covering Chicago's southern suburbs and northwest Indiana.
- Illinois Chapter, DFPA
Illinois State Chapter of the Daughters of Founders and Patriots. A society for women who can trace their direct male line to a pre-1687 Founder, including a Revolutionary Patriot.
- Illinois Daughters of the American Revolution
- Illinois Heritage Society
- Illinois Society Daughters of the American Colonists
- Illinois Society of Colonial Wars
- Illinois Society of the Order of Founders and Patriots of America
- Illinois State Genealogical Society
- Illinois State Historical Society
- Independent Order of Odd Fellows - Illinois
Jurisdictions for the IOOF, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Rebekahs.
- Jewish Genealogical Society of Illinois
- Midwest Archives Conference
- Milwaukee Road Historical Association ~ Antioch
Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul, and Pacific Railroad.
- National Road Association of Illinois ~ Effingham
- Old Northwest Historical Society ~ Ohio
Dedicated to preserving and perpetuating the history of the Old Northwest Territory. The region northwest of the Ohio river that became the states of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin.
- Polish Genealogical Society of America ~ Chicago
- SAGA-OMII Genealogical Association
Swiss Anabaptist Genealogical Association centered around Ohio, Michigan, Indiana and Illinois, focusing on mostly Swiss Mennonite descendants.
- Society Hill: Illinois Genealogy
A list of addresses for genealogical and historical societies in the state.
- Sons of the Revolution in the State of Illinois
- Tri-State Genealogical Society ~ Indiana, Illinois and Kentucky
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|