Discover your family history in a whole new way
We are a non-profit organisation, founded in 1956, dedicated to helping individuals, groups, educators and global diasporas gain a deeper understanding of the rich history of Ulster and its families.
Start Your Search
Search over 2 million records including birth, deaths & marriages (BMD), census records, street directories and more...
Getting Started
Whether you are a seasoned family historian struggling finding a particularly frustrating 'piece of your puzzle', or if you are just starting your genealogical journey and want to know 'how best to start', the different resources and services available on our website are there to help!
Latest News
-
£11.99 -
£11.99
a Gift
Membership
Join today and become part of a growing community of like-minded family historians, and strengthen connections to the land of your ancestors.
With a membership you can enjoy huge discounts on our products and services
-
Access to members-only databases
-
Discounted Access to all baptism/birth, marriage and death/burial records
-
15% off all Ulster Historical Foundation published books on booksireland.org.uk
-
Discounts on our initial assessments, consultations & courses.
Online Genealogy Courses
-
An Online Family History CourseIrish Genealogy Essentials Winter 2025-2026Register today for our Winter 2025/26 IGE Course£374.99Book Now -
Available For Immediate ViewingIntroduction to Irish GenealogyFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now -
Available For Immediate ViewingIrish Land RecordsFive Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 7 Hours)£74.99Book Now -
Available For Immediate ViewingChurch Records in IrelandFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now -
Available For Immediate ViewingLesser Known SourcesFive Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now -
An Online Family History CourseIrish Genealogy Essentials Winter 2025-2026Register today for our Winter 2025/26 IGE Course£374.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingIntroduction to Irish GenealogyFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingIrish Land RecordsFive Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 7 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingChurch Records in IrelandFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingLesser Known SourcesFive Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
An Online Family History CourseIrish Genealogy Essentials Winter 2025-2026Register today for our Winter 2025/26 IGE Course£374.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingIntroduction to Irish GenealogyFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingIrish Land RecordsFive Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 7 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingChurch Records in IrelandFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingLesser Known SourcesFive Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
-
An Online Family History CourseIrish Genealogy Essentials Winter 2025-2026Register today for our Winter 2025/26 IGE Course£374.99Book Now
-
Available For Immediate ViewingIntroduction to Irish GenealogyFour Lecture Module (Duration Approx. 5.5 Hours)£74.99Book Now
"If you're wondering whether to engage UHF's services or attend one of their conferences I can assure you that you'll experience absolute quality. I attended the June 2016 UHF conference and to sum it up - I attended a genealogy holiday. If you want to: meet like-minded people, have professional research assistance, eat really well, enjoy field trips that will show you the things that make Ireland amazing, meet new friends from around the world and enhance your own genealogy knowledge - this is a high quality conference you won't be sorry you spent money on! On top of all that the staff at UHF are friendly, know their stuff, well organised and prepared to accommodate your last minute change (if they can). My only complaint is that it ended! But, I've already decided that I'm going to attend another one in a few years time. Yes, it's that good!"Davina Hughes – Waipa, New Zealand