Scandinavian Handwriting Part 3

Nordic 2019 Conference, 13 Lessons

Presenter: Fritz Juengling

0:00 / 0:00

Video Companion

Off

This class continues on from the lesson presented at the 2017 Nordic conference, Old Scandinavian Script. It teaches how to decipher the Gothic handwriting used in the Scandinavian countries.

Language: English

Lesson Content

Scandinavian_handwriting_juengling_112019

Nordic 2019 Conference

13 Lessons

Scandinavian Handwriting Part 3

This class continues on from the lesson presented at the 2017 Nordic conference, Old Scandinavian Script. It teaches how to decipher the Gothic handwriting used in the Scandinavian countries.
Solving Problems Using the FamilySearch Wiki

This class teaches how to use FamilySearch Wiki to solve common problems in the Nordic countries including reading difficult names, translation, Scandinavian feast day conversions, and the Danish military levying rolls.
Sorting Nordic Identities

This class discusses some of the common pitfalls that can occur while researching in the Nordic countries and teaches how to research your lines accurately.
Time Saving Strategies for Nordic Research

This class discusses the research cycle used in the Scandinavian countries and discusses key laws and events that affected record keeping in Sweden, Finland, Denmark, and Norway.
Swedish Mantals Tax Records

This class discusses the history of the Swedish Mantals Tax, and the laws behind it and then presents a case study showing their genealogical value.
Using Name Searchable Databases in ArkivDigital

This class demonstrates the latest advances made by ArkivDigital, and demonstrates how the tools it offers can be used to find your family much quicker and easier
How to Use Swedish Collections in ArkivDigital

This class teaches how to use Swedish military, census records, passenger ship manifest, and other genealogically useful collections in ArkivDigital.
Introduction to Swedish Estate Inventories

This class teaches the value of and demonstrates how to locate Swedish Estate inventories in ArkivDigital.
Find the Unknown Father in Sweden

This class teaches the best methods for trying to find the unknown father in Swedish research and the chances of success in different time periods and circumstances
Denmark Tax Records: 1660-1812

This class teaches the value of and demonstrates how to use two types of Danish tax records that work well together: The extra tax lists and the consumption, domestic servant, and domestic child tax lists At the time of presentation, these records were mostly in the Granite Mountain Record Vault but they have now been digitized and can be accessed from home by computer
Danish Military Levying Rolls

This class teaches the history of the Danish military, explains the levying system started in 1788 and demonstrates how these records can be used for genealogical purposes in Denmark
Denmark Vaccination Records

This class teaches how to locate and use Danish vaccination records and shows their genealogical value
Denmark Probate Records

This classes teaches the value of and laws behind Danish probate records and then shows two useful websites to help you locate a probate for your ancestor

Was this helpful?

Lesson Content

Change Language

Recently used languages