Contact Us | Connect:
« Back to Collection Details
| Search This Title: | |
|---|---|
| Record Creator: | Lewis County Government, Auditor |
| Description: | These records contain an index of the Lewis County census recorded in 1847. It does not contain images. Information collected in the census includes the name of the head of household, Number of Males Under Age 12, Number of Males Under Age 18 And Over 12, Number of Males over 18, Number of Females Under Age 12, Number of Females Under Age 18 And Over 12, Number of Females over 18, and Total Number in Family. From around the late 1700s to mid-1800s, census records reported only the name of the head of household. The age range and gender of those in the home were recorded. This informat... More |
| Related Records: | For more information or to learn about related records, contact the Washington State Archives, Southwest Region Branch at (360) 753-1684 or email swbrancharchives@sos.wa.gov. |
| Access Restriction Notes: | These records are open for research. |
| Sources of Transfer | Historic Records Project |
| Notes | Original material held by Lewis County Auditor’s office.
Transcribed by Roger Easton, Olympia, Washington. Proofread by Karen Johnson, Olympia, Washington. |
| Agency History: | In 1845 the Provisional Government of Oregon divided the District of Vancouver into two large counties, all land north of the Columbia and west of the Cowlitz River was designated Lewis County. Today the county is reduced in size. The county seat is Chehalis. |
| Preferred Citation: | [Identification of item], 1847, Lewis County Heads of Family Census, Lewis County Territorial Auditor, Washington State Archives, Digital Archives, http://digitalarchives.wa.gov, [date accessed]. |
| Record Count: | 52 |
