United States » U.S. Census » 1940 U.S. Federal Census — 1 April 1940 » Online Records and Indexes

1940 Census | Access U.S 1940 Census Records Free at Ancestry.com ^FREE

Ancestry.com - 1940 United States Federal Census $

Includes research tips and information about the questions asked in each census. Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Ancestry.com - Search Schools, Directories & Church Histories $

Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.

Archives.com - U.S. 1940 Census Records, 1940 $

0 Records. Source: National Archives. Use Archives.com with a FREE 7-day membership and search over 2.1 billion records. Pay-for-use after the seven day free trial.

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1940

FamilySearch - United States Census, 1940

All fifty states included in the 1940 US Census are completely indexed and published for searching.

Findmypast - 1940 U.S. Federal Population Census $

MyHeritage - 1940 United States Federal Census $

MyHeritage has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. The 1940 Census included all 132,164,569 residents of the United States at that time, and the armed forces serving overseas, born on or before April 1, 1940. It is the largest, most comprehensive, and most recent US census record set available. It includes information on names, ages, locations, households, relations, gender, race, education, places of birth, and other facts unique to the 1940 Census including residence in 1935, detailed income and occupation and supplemental questions for 2 people on each form.

RootsPoint

RootsPoint is intended as a social community centered around the 1940 US census (free). Data includes UK census records and US historical records, and includes social sharing tools. Some images are available for a fee.

Welcome - 1940 census

The official web site from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. The 1940 census records were released by the US National Archives April 2, 2012, and brought online through a partnership with Archives.com. This website allows you full access to the 1940 census images, in addition to 1940 census maps and descriptions.