Prisons, Prisoners & Outlaws » Locality Specific

ArkivDigital - Swedish Genealogy $

A subscription service. The image database consists of about 210,000 historical books, documents and records or 61 million digital color images of Swedish church records, estate inventories, court records, tax/census records and other historical records. We use modern technology to digitalize the records directly from the original books and we extend the image database with more than 600,000 color images each month.

AUSTRALIAN-POWS Mailing List (Archived on RootsWeb)

For anyone with a genealogical interest in Australian soldiers in prisoner-of-war (POW) camps.

Beveren-Waas, Prisons 1857

Belgium.

Canada's Penitentiary Museum

Information about former inmates and their guards is available since the inception of the penitentiary in 1835. Located in Kingston, Ontario.

Crime and Punishment in Upper Canada: A Researcher's Guide

A book by Janice Nickerson.

Findmypast - Ontario, Canada- Gleanings From The Sheriff's Records, London $

Findmypast has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.

Institute of National Remembrance: Commission for the Prosecution of Crimes Against the Polish Nation

Poland. Preserving the memory of the losses suffered by the Polish Nation as the result of World War 2 and the post-war period.

Kingston Penitentiary inmates, 1913

Canada

Persons Sentenced to Death in Canada, 1867-1976: An Inventory of Case Files in the Fonds of the Department of Justice

Royal Canadian Mounted Police - Criminal Records

Upper Canada (Ontario) Criminal Database

Database indexes prison registers from Toronto, Whitby, Guelph, Woodstock, Chatham, Cobourg, Kitchener, Windsor, Peterborough, Lindsay, Owen Sound, Brockville, Belleville, Picton.

Upper Canada Genealogy - Gore District Debtors

An index of names of residents of Gore District who were jailed for unpaid debts and the people to whom they owed money, for the period 1832 to 1849. The Gaol (Jail) was located in Hamilton, and Gore District covered the counties of Wentworth, Halton, Wellington, Waterloo, Brant and Oxford in Ontario, Canada (also known as Upper Canada and Canada West). The original register also includes the amount of the debt, the specific dates of committal and discharge, and the names of the judge and attorneys involved.

Международный Мемориал / Memorial Society

For the preservation of the societal memory of the political persecution in the recent past of the Soviet Union. Publishes Books of Memory which contain names of victims, also short biographical descriptions of the victims, and sometimes even photographs.