Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Oregon
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Oregon:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
General Resource Sites
- AccessGenealogy - Oregon Genealogy Resource Center
- American History and Genealogy Project - Oregon
- American Local History Network - Oregon
- Ancestor Search - Oregon Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Oregon
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Oregon Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Oregon Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Oregon
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Oregon
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Oregon Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Oregon
- Kindred Trails - Oregon Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Oregon Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Oregon
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Oregon
- Oregon History & Genealogy Resources
- Oregon Migration Page
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Oregon
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - ORGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Oregon in Databases or Oregon in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Oregon State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Oregon
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Oregon: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Oregon
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Oregon
- Oregon Online ~ State of Oregon
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Oregon
- Yahoo! Get Local...Oregon Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
OR-CEMETERIES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding cemeteries in Oregon including locations, photos, and transcriptions. Archives: browse or search.
-
OR-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Oregon census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
OR-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Oregon census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
OREGON Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the State of Oregon. Archives: browse or search.
-
oregongen Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Oregon.
-
OREGON-TRAIL Mailing List For those who want to research their family history concerning anything to do with the Oregon Trail. The history of the trail is an appropriate topic for discussion as well as postings of wagon train lists, and anything else genealogical including stories of life as a pioneer, diaries, queries, books, etc.Western states involved would mostly be Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington; maybe even California, Utah and others. Time periods include around 1840-1900. Archives: browse or search.
-
ORFORUM Mailing List For the members of the Genealogical Forum of Oregon in Portland, for the discussion and sharing of information regarding genealogical resources available in Oregon.
-
OR-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Oregon from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian. Archives: browse or search.
-
OR-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Oregon. Archives: browse or search.
-
OR-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Oregon newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
OR-ROOTS Mailing List Focused on Oregon where genealogists can share the results of research, assist newcomers to the field, inquire about the location of resources, debate issues, raise questions, and learn about current events in the field.
-
OR-WVGS Mailing List Sponsored by the Williamette Valley Genealogical Society, for anyone with a genealogical interest in the Williamette Valley area of Oregon. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing list Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Oregon
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Oregon
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Oregon
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Oregon
- ABYZ News Links - Oregon - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Footnote.com - Oregon Newspapers
Boardman Enterprise, Clatskanie Chief, Coquille Valley Sentinel, Dayton Tribune, Enterprise Herald, Hells Canyon Journal, Heppner Gazette-Times, McKenzie River Reflections, New Era, Pacific University Index, Pendleton Record, Sheridan Sun, Times, Times-Journal. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- Heritage Trail Press | Genealogy and Historical Family Research Records
Pay-for-use databases for Oregon and Utah. Including: Old Historic Oregon and Utah Newspaper; Oregon Catholic Church Records; Cumulative Indexes to Munnicks Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest; Portland City Directories; Oregon BLM Maps; Oregon Metsker Atlases; Oregon Cemetery Survey (free); Oregon Death Index (free).
- History of Newspaper Publishing in Oregon
- Home Town News - Oregon
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Oregon
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Oregon
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Oregon
- NewspaperLinks.com - Oregon
- Newspapers and Genealogical Resources on Microform
University of Oregon Library System.
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Oregon News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Oregon
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Oregon Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Oregon Newspapers
- USNP: Oregon - United States Newspaper Project
- World-newspapers.com - Oregon Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Oregon
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
For Alaska, California, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Oregon
- The First People of Clackamas County Oregon
Describes the traditional way of life of the Kalapuya, Clackamas, and Molalla Indians of Clackamas County, Oregon with text, illustrations, and bibliography.
- Oregon Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Tribes and Villages of Oregon
- WPA Life Histories from Oregon
Manuscripts from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1940, Library of Congress.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Oregon
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Oregon
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Oregon
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Oregon
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Ancestors in the Attic
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Oregon or Specializing in Oregon
- Connie LENZEN - Certified Genealogical Research Specialist
Research in Oregon and southwest Washington.
- Family Passages Genealogy: Peggy Baldwin, Oregon Professional Genealogist
Peggy Baldwin,MLS, has 20 years of genealogical research experience, specializing in Oregon, Oregon Trail, Washington, and Pacific Northwest family history research.
- Genealogy For Hire
Professional Genealogical Research by JoAnne HAUGEN, AG, Dallas, Oregon.
- Genealogy Professional Carol Newey Genealogical Researcher: Carol Newey Genealogist
Portland, Oregon. American northwest and southeast research. 25 years of personal genealogical research.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- A Loving Journey, Adoption Reunion Searching
Discreet, compassionate searching available to reunite families separated by adoption. Serving states of California, Hawaii, Illinios, Ohio, Oregon, Texas and Utah.
- Oregon Newspaper Research
Research for hire.
- Peggy M. Winston, Certified Genealogical Records Specialist
Specializing in Washington and Oregon Research.
- Professional Genealogist for Oregon - Leslie Brinkley-Lawson
Research services specializing in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest. Services include courthouse research, heir and probate research, historical and cemetery research, Internet research, census extraction, planning reunions, and helping build your family tree. Onsite research available. Genealogy lecturer.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Oregon
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Utah Adoptee-Birthmother Searches/Reunions Help
Professional adoption and reunion searches specializing in Utah/California/Oregon connections.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Oregon
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- The American Northwest: A History of Oregon and Washington
A book by Gordon Dodds.
- Apart and Together: Mennonites in Oregon and Neighboring States, 1876-1976
A book by Hope Kauffman Lind.
- Atlas of Oregon
A book by William G. Loy.
- California, Oregon, Nevada Births & Deaths CD 1700s-1988
A CD-ROM by LLC Global Data.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: St. Paul, Oregon 1839-1989 Vol I, II and III
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Oregon City, Salem, and Jacksonville
A book by Harriet Duncan Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Grand Rounde
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Roseburg and Portland
A book by Harriet Duncan Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: St Ann, Walla Walla and Frenchtown
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest: Vancouver and Stellamaris Mission Vol I and II
A book by Harriet D. Munnick.
- General History of Oregon
A book by C.H. Carey.
- Historical Atlas of the Pacific Northwest: Maps of Exploration and Discovery : British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Yukon
A book by Derek Hayes.
- In Tar and Paint and Stone: The Inscriptions at Independence Rock and Devil's Gate
A book by Levida Hileman.
- More than Petticoats: Remarkable Oregon Women
A book by Gayle C. Shirley.
- Oregon Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
A book by John H. Long.
- Oregon Burial Site Guide
A book by Dean H. Byrd.
- Oregon Geographic Names
A book by Lewis L. McArthur.
- Research in Oregon (Research in the States Series)
A book by Connie Miller Lenzen.
- Atlas of Oregon‚ Hardcover
A book available at the University of Oregon Press.
- Atlas of Oregon CD-ROM
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Oregon
- Books We Own - Oregon
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Oregon
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- eBay Listings: Search for Oregon Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical Forum of Oregon, Inc. Publications for Sale
- Heritage Trail Press
Pay-for-use genealogical and historical data primarily focusing on Oregon.
- Higginson Book Company - Oregon
- Oregon Burial Site Guide
Book for sale.
- Oregon Genealogical Society Publications For Sale
- Oregon Territorial Press
- Powell's Books ~ Portland
Used, new and out of print books.
- Quintin Publications | Oregon
- Research in Oregon
A book by Connie Miller Lenzen from Research In the States, a series of the National Genealogical Society.
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Oregon
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Oregon
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Oregon. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- BLM - Oregon's Electronic Reading Room
United States Bureau of Land Management.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- Grand Army of the Republic Records, 1882-1949
At the Oregon Historical Society. Holdings include rosters, minutes, roll books and other miscellaneous information concerning several G.A.R. posts in Oregon as well as G.A.R. Women's Relief Corp records.
- McMinnville College Adelphic Fraternity Yearbook, 1911-1915 Frat Members#160;
 Now Linfield College, McMinnville, Yamhill County, Oregon.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - Oregon
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Oregon Pioneer Biographies
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Oregon Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Oregon Marriages, 1906-20 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Heritage Trail Press | Genealogy and Historical Family Research Records
Pay-for-use databases for Oregon and Utah. Including: Old Historic Oregon and Utah Newspaper; Oregon Catholic Church Records; Cumulative Indexes to Munnicks Catholic Church Records of the Pacific Northwest; Portland City Directories; Oregon BLM Maps; Oregon Metsker Atlases; Oregon Cemetery Survey (free); Oregon Death Index (free).
-
Oregon Death Index, 1903-1998 Searchable online database.
- VitalChek Network - Oregon
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Oregon
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records Certification Unit FAQs
From the Oregon Health Division's Center for Health Statistics (and Vital Records). Provides availability, fees, and contact information for ordering certificates.
- VitalSearch - Oregon (USA): Oregon State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Western State Historical Marriage Record Index
Search engine for marriages in Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah 1850 - 1951.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Oregon
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Church Angel - Oregon Churches
Local Catholic Church History and Catholic Ancestors - Oregon, Idaho and Montana
Mass Times Provides addresses for Catholic churches in the state organized alphabetically by city name.
Net Ministries Church Directory - Oregon
Roman Catholic Dioceses and Parishes within the United States - Oregon
United Methodist Church Directory - Oregon
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|