Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Nevada
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also see this separate page for Nevada:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Nevada Genealogy Resource Center
- ALHN NV Main Page
American Local History Network & American History & Genealogy Project (AHGP).
- Ancestor Search - Nevada Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Nevada
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Nevada Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Nevada Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Nevada
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Nevada
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Nevada Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Nevada
- Kindred Trails - Nevada Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Nevada Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Nevada
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Nevada
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Nevada
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - NVGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Nevada in Databases or Nevada in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Nevada State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Nevada
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Nevada: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Las Vegas Historical Information
From the Las Vegas Online Entertainment Guide.
- NACo - About Counties - Nevada
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Nevada County Recorders
- NSLA - Archives & Records - Nevada Executive Branch Agencies, Territorial Officers
List of Nevada Territorial and State Officers, 1861 to Present.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Nevada
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Nevada
- USA CityLink Project - Nevada
- Yahoo! Get Local...Nevada Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Center for Basque Studies ~ Reno, Nevada
- Family History Centers in Nevada
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Nevada
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Las Vegas-Clark County Library District
- LIBCAT: US - Nevada
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Nevada
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Nevada Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page
- Nevada State Library and Archives
 A division of the Nevada Department of Cultural Affairs.
- PublicLibraries.com - Nevada
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Nevada
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
 List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries
- Special Collections
Houses unique, rare, and specialized research material that documents the history, culture and physical environment of the city of Las Vegas, the southern Nevada region, the gaming industry, and the University of Nevada Las Vegas.
- University of Nevada, Reno Libraries
- The Walker African-American Museum & Research Center
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
NEVADA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Nevada. Archives: browse or search.
-
NV-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Nevada.
-
NV-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating, and preserving historical information about, Nevada cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
NV-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Nevada census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
NV-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Nevada census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
NV-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Nevada from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
NVGEN Mailing List For discussing the creation of a single source for all Nevada genealogy databases. Archives: browse or search.
-
NV-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Nevada. Archives: browse or search.
-
NV-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Nevada newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing list Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Nevada
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Nevada
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Nevada Civil War Volunteers
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Nevada
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- ABYZ News Links - Nevada - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Footnote.com - Nevada Newspapers
Mineral County Independent-News, Mirror. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- Home Town News - Nevada
 Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Nevada
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Nevada
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Nevada
- NewspaperLinks.com - Nevada
- NSLA - Library Services - Newspaper Holdings List
Nevada State Library and Archives and Records.
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Nevada News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Nevada
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Nevada Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Nevada Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Nevada Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Nevada
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Nevada
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Nevada
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Nevada
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Nevada
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Nevada or Specializing in Nevada
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Greene Genealogy
Professional research at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City , National Archives and Daughters of the American Revolution Library in Washington, D.C. FREE brochure.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Nevada
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- AccessGenealogy - Nevada Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Nevada Census, 1860-1910 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Nevada
- Digitalarkivet - Norwegians in US
 Searchable online database of 1850, 1860, 1870, and primarily 1880 US censuses for various states. Individuals listed are identified on the censuses as being from Norway.
- Find People in History
 From the Nevada Department of Cultural Affairs State Historic Preservation Office. Online searchable database of transcriptions from the 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920 Federal censuses for Nevada. Covers the entire state for each census
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
 Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Nevada
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Nevada. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- BLM - Nevada's Electronic Reading Room
United States Bureau of Land Management.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- First Records of Carson Valley, Utah Territory, 1851
The First Records of Carson Valley was transcribed literally as written, including misspellings, excessive capitalization, and nineteenth century abbreviations. They document the settlement of the Carson Valley, and the financial rise and fall of John Reese's Nevada undertaking in western Utah Territory.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Nevada State Library and Archives - Nevada Newspaper Indexes
- Nevada State Library and Archives - Nevada State Prison Inmate Case Files
 An online name index to the Nevada State Prison Inmate Case files in the State Archives, dating from 1863 to 1972.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Nevada Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce Records
Includes addresses for the county recorders/auditors. From the Nevada State Library and Archives.
- Clark County, Nevada Government and Services
- Nevada State Health Division
Follow the link to Health Division Directory and find contact information under the heading State Office of Vital Records and Statistics.
- VitalChek Network - Nevada
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Nevada
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Western States Marriage Search Form
 Index for marriages in western states, including mostly pre-1900 marriages in Arizona, Idaho and Nevada. Also some counties in California, western Colorado, Montana, Oregon, Utah, eastern Washington, and Wyoming.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Nevada
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|