|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - New Mexico
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Directories
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for New Mexico:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - New Mexico Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - New Mexico
- Ancestor Search - New Mexico Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - New Mexico
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - New Mexico Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - New Mexico Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - North Mexico
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- GenealogyBank.com - New Mexico
GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.
- Genealogy Buff - Library - New Mexico Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- New Mexico
- Genealogy Trails History Group - New Mexico Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to New Mexico Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - New Mexico
- Hispanic Genealogical Research Center of New Mexico
- Kindred Trails - New Mexico Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - New Mexico Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > New Mexico
- Looking 4 Kin - New Mexico
- New Mexico Ancestors
Databases, cemeteries, death records, obituaries, histories, marriages, mortuary records.
- New Mexico/Genealogy/Family History
Blog with numerous links for New Mexico research.
- New Mexico Genealogy - New Mexico History
Surnames, queries, resources, where-to, and links.
- New Mexico Genealogy Resources - Online Records & More
Directory of online records and research guides, including information about the Spanish Colonial period.
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - New Mexico
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - New Mexico
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - NMGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - New Mexico in Databases or New Mexico in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Directories & Member Lists Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Polk's Arizona and New Mexico pictorial state gazetteer and business directory : 1912-1913.
-
Southwestern business directory : including principal towns on Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad, Chicago, Kansas and Nebraska Railway, Kansas City, Fort Scott and Memphis Railroad, Denver, Texas and Fort Worth Railway, Texas and Pacific Railway, Union Pacific Railway, Denver and Rio Grande Railway, Colorado Midland Railway, and Atlantic and Pacific Railroad. Colorado, Wyoming Territory, Arizona, New Mexico, Kansas, Missouri, Arkansas, Indian Territory, Texas, Louisana.
-
U.K. and U.S. Directories, 1680-1830 Original source: Avero Publications. Biography Database, 1680-1830. Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England: Avero Publications, 1998.
-
U.S. City Directories
-
U.S. Phone and Address Directories, 1993-2002 Original source: 1993-2002 White Pages. Little Rock, AR, USA: Acxiom Corporation.
-
U.S. Public Records Index Original source: Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, comp. Historical Residential White Page, Directory Assistance and Other Household Database Listings. Merlin Data Publishing Corporation, 215 South Complex Drive, Kalispell, MT 59901.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - New Mexico
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- City Directories of the United States of America
A register of known city directories, their years, and repositories for the United States.
- Online Historical Directories Website
The purpose of the site is to have links to all online city directories in one place, listed by location and in date order. It is meant to be used as an aid to genealogists, historians, and other researchers. Included are county, rural, business, professional and other directories.
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - New Mexico
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- 50states.com - New Mexico State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - New Mexico
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: New Mexico: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - New Mexico
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of New Mexico
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of New Mexico Government Information
- USA CityLink Project - New Mexico
- Yahoo! Get Local...New Mexico Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - New Mexico
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Ghost Towns of New Mexico
- Historic Markers of New Mexico
- Historic Places of New Mexico
- Mountain Men and the Fur Trade
Sources of the History of the Fur Trade in the Rocky Mountain West.
- New Mexico History Timeline
- Yahoo!...History...New Mexico
- Archdiocese of Santa Fe - Historic/Artistic Patrimony, Archives and Museum
- Center for Southwest Research ~ Albuquerque
From the University of New Mexico.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in New Mexico
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Fray Angelico Chavez History Library ~ Santa Fe
- LIBCAT: US - New Mexico
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - New Mexico
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- New Mexico Commission of Public Records
New Mexico State Records Center and Archives.
- New Mexico State Library
- Online Archive of New Mexico
Integrated source for searching and navigating finding aids to archival collections.
- PublicLibraries.com - New Mexico
- Repositories of Primary Sources: New Mexico
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Rio Grande Historical Collections / Hobson-Huntsinger University Archives
Serves a dual function in the New Mexico State University Library by acting as a repository for non-current university records and for manuscripts and personal papers documenting the cultural heritage and history of New Mexico and the Southwest.
- Rio Grande Valley Library System - Special Collections Branch ~ Albuquerque
Strong in the areas of New Mexico and Hispanic genealogy.
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
- WorldCat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can search for books, music CDs, videos, and many new kinds of digital content such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Special features include the ability for you to create lists of library items and build biblilographies.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
NEW-MEXICO Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in New Mexico. Archives: browse or search.
-
NM-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within New Mexico.
-
NM-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing New Mexico census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
NM-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of New Mexico census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
NM-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in New Mexico from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
NMGEN-L Mailing List For discussing the creation of a single source for all New Mexico genealogy databases.
-
NM-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of New Mexico. Archives: browse or search.
-
NM-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For submission of abstracts, extracts and links from New Mexico newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
SANTA-FE-TRAIL Mailing List For sharing ideas, adventures, questions, and answers regarding the Santa Fe Trail. While not specifically oriented toward genealogical queries, other subscribers may be able to assist you in researching your ancestors who traveled along this trail.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing list Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - New Mexico
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - New Mexico
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - New Mexico
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Search Maps, Atlases & Gazetteers Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - New Mexico A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Map Collection, 1513-1990 - Southwestern States A collection of a variety of maps created for different scopes and purposes, including political and geographical. The maps are categorized as follows: cadastral, discovery and exploration, military, panoramic, thematic, topographic, transportation.
- Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
 From the Newberry Library, Chicago, Illinois. Includes for each state: Interactive Map; Index of County and Equivalents; Consolidated Chronology; Individual County Chronologies; Bibliography and Sources; Historical Commentary; Metadata - Summary Form; Metadata - Full FGDC Form; Download GIS Files; Download KMZ Files; Download PDF Files.
- Color Landform Atlas: New Mexico
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- Map of New Mexico Counties
- MapQuest: World Atlas: New Mexico
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - New Mexico Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - New Mexico County Selection Map
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - New Mexico
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- ABYZ News Links - New Mexico - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com - Search Newspapers & Periodicals Records Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- Footnote.com - New Mexico Newspapers
De Baca County News, Fort Sumner Review, Hidalgo County Herald, Mountain Mail, Taiban Valley News. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - New Mexico
GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with a fee-based subscription.
- Home Town News - New Mexico
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | New Mexico
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - New Mexico
- NewspaperLinks.com - New Mexico
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old New Mexico News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: New Mexico
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - New Mexico Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program - New Mexico
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - New Mexico Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - New Mexico Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...New Mexico
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - New Mexico
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - New Mexico
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - New Mexico
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - New Mexico
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in New Mexico or Specializing in New Mexico
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - New Mexico
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - New Mexico
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in New Mexico. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- Beyond Origins of New Mexico Families
This web site contains new genealogical information on many New Mexico families that is based on research into primary documents, and highlights additional material published in past and current genealogical journals related to New Mexico colonial families or material from other publications.
- BLM - New Mexico's Electronic Reading Room
United States Bureau of Land Management.
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - New Mexico
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Passport Records 1828-1836, Mexican Records from the Port of Entry at Santa Fe, New Mexico Territory
A circular dated 19 November 1825 from the Government of Mexico ordered each Mexican state and territory to make a monthly report of the number and movements of foreigners. The report was to be made to the Secretaria de Relaciones Interiores y Exteriores in Mexico City. All foreigners entering Mexico at Santa Fe were required to register and obtain passports at the Custom House.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: New Mexico Counties, United States
- Researching New Mexico Land Grants
Documents pertinent to the study of land grants are available at the New Mexico Commission of Public Records.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Ancestry.com has searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images are available with a fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- MyVitalRec.com - New Mexico Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- New Mexico Death Index Project (1899-1940)
Online database organized by surname.
- New Mexico Department of Health - Vital Records
Provides contact information only for the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Bureau.
- VitalChek Network - New Mexico
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - New Mexico
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - New Mexico Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - New Mexico
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
- Bataan-Corregidor Memorial Foundation of New Mexico, Inc.
Includes the names of those who served with New Mexico's 200th and 515th Coast Artillery (Anti-aircraft) units.
- Genealogical Society of Hispanic America
Hispanic Genealogy research in New Mexico, Colorado, Mexico and the south west.
- Genealogical Society of Hispanic America - Southern California Chapter
 Focuses on Hispanic research in the American Southwest & Mexico, including the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, New Mexico, & Texas. 75% of members are descendants of the Spanish colonists of New Mexico. Lectures, research days, books, genealogical writers group, & networking.
- Grand Lodge of New Mexico Ancient Free & Accepted Masons
- Hispanic Genealogical Research Center of New Mexico
- Independent Order of Odd Fellows - New Mexico
Jurisdictions for the IOOF, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Rebekahs.
- New Mexican Hispanic Culture Preservation League
Our Mission Statement: to preserve the heritage, Spanish language and history of Hispanic New Mexico; to promote the education and understanding of the contributions of Hispanics to the development of New Mexico and the Nation; and to protect the history of the New Mexican Hispanic heritage and culture.
- New Mexico Genealogical Society ~ Albuquerque
- New Mexico Jewish Historical Society
- The New Mexico State Organization National Society Daughters of the American Revolution
- Society Hill: New Mexico Genealogy
A list of addresses for genealogical and historical societies in the state.
- The Society of Southwest Archivists
- Southern New Mexico Genealogical Society
Lists of local cemeteries by county.
- Southwest Oral History Association
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|