Advertisements


Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
1996-2009: Your genealogy starting point online for more than a decade!
Google
Web CyndisList.com

Browse
Cyndi's List:

  • Main Index
  • Topical Index
  • Alphabetical Index
  • "No Frills" Index
  • Text-Only Index

    Search:
  • Search or Browse

  • Browse New Links
    Submit a New Link
    Mailing List
  • Browse Archives
  • Search Archives
  • RSS Archives
  • Cyndi's List BlogCyndi's List Blog

    Cyndi's List

    Promote Your Page Too


    160+ Census Databases!

    120x240 Cencus

    Free 7-Day Trial WorldVitalRecords.com

    Advertisement


    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi's List
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Support Cyndi's List
    Historical Timeline
    FAQ
    Make it Your Homepage!
    Link to Cyndi's List
    Awards & Recognition
    Internet Stuff You Need To Know
    Home Page
    Construction Kit

    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi
    FAQ
    Cyndi's Speaking Schedule & Calendar
    Cyndi's Books:
    Order Planting Your Family Tree Online from Amazon.com
    Planting Your Family Tree Online
    Netting Your Ancestors - Internet How-To Book
    Netting Your Ancestors

    Advertisements

    Footnote.com

    125 by 125 for Dealtaker 40 percent off sale

    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore 

    Casefile Clues - genealogy how-tos

    Read More, Spend Less. New Lower Prices on Thousands of Books!

    FamilyTreeDNA

    Try a FREE issue of Family Tree Magazine

    Advertisements


    FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) FAQ
    (Frequently Asked Questions):
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Before Sending E-mail to Cyndi...
    How to Submit a New Link to Cyndi's List
    How to Report a Broken Link Found on Cyndi's List
    How to Update an Existing Link on Cyndi's List
    New to genealogy and/or the Internet
    "Can you help me with my own research?"
    How You Can Support Cyndi's List
    More FAQs

    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisement

    Footnote.com

    Advertisement


    Advertisement

    120x600_newsarchive_dark_1.gif

    Advertisement


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisement

    Advertisement

    U.S. - North Carolina



    General Resource Sites


    Government & Cities


    History & Culture


    How To


    Libraries, Archives & Museums


    Locality Specific

    • Dot's Genealogy Place 
      Genealogy information for North Carolina research, including the complete 1860 federal census for Wayne County, North Carolina.
    • New River Valley Historical Notes 
      Historical resources page for the Upper New River Valley of North Carolina and Virginia. Links to other sites and transcribes lists such as tax lists, regimental rosters, and fraternal organization membership lists.


    Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat

    Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.

    • Appalachianfamily Mailing List 
      Appalachian Mountain Families including families from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky, Virginia, and West Virginia.
    • CAPE-FEAR-SCOTS Mailing List 
      For anyone researching Scottish immigrants to the Cape Fear region of North Carolina prior to 1850. Archives: browse or search.
    • EFSS Mailing List 
      For serious researchers of Early Families in Southern States during the colonial period. Archives: browse or search.
    • Melungeon Mailing List 
      For people conducting Melungeon and/or Appalachian research including Native American, Portuguese, Turkish, Black Dutch, and other unverifiable mixed statements of ancestry or unexplained rumors, with ancestors in TN, KY, VA, NC, SC, GA, AL, WV, and possibly other places. Archives: browse or search.
    • NA-CHEROKEE-NC Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Cherokee indians of North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-AfriGeneas Mailing List 
      To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within North Carolina.
    • NC-CEMETERIES Mailing List 
      For the discussion and sharing of information regarding North Carolina cemeteries including location, history, preservation, and queries on ancestors who may be buried in them. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-CENSUS Mailing List 
      For volunteers who are engaged in transcribing North Carolina census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
    • NC-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List 
      For anyone desiring a check of North Carolina census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-FREEDMEN Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in North Carolina from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
    • NCGEN-CENSUS Mailing List 
      For the USGenWeb Archives census transcription volunteers who are working in North Carolina to discuss the census transcription process and post relevant information.
    • NC-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • NCGS Mailing List 
      For the dissemination of news and announcements about the North Carolina Genealogical Society. Archives: browse or search.
    • NCMILITARY Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in people and events of a military nature within or supported by North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-NEWSPAPER Mailing List 
      To discuss genealogical information found in North Carolina newspapers. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-NORTH-CEMETERIES Mailing List 
      For the discussion and sharing of information regarding northern North Carolina cemeteries including location, history, preservation, and queries on ancestors who may be buried in them. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-OLD-NEWS Mailing List 
      For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from North Carolina newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-ROLLCALL Mailing List 
      For any and all researchers of North Carolina kin to post roll calls - surnames they are researching and associated information such as locations and timeframes. Archives: browse or search.
    • NCROOTS Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the State of North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • NCROOTS Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in North Carolina.
    • NCSCGENSWAP Mailing List 
      For anyone wishing to swap research time in North and South Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • NCSCOTS-L Mailing List 
      For anyone who is studying the genealogy of Scottish immigrants to North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • NC-SC-ROOTS-L Mailing List 
      North Carolina and South Carolina.
    • NC-USCT Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the US Colored Troops formed in North Carolina during the American Civil War including soldiers, battles, regimental histories and military and pension records for the 35th, 36th, 37th & 135th US Colored Infantries and the 14th US Colored Heavy Artillery. See the also North Carolina - US Colored Troops  web site. Archives: browse or search.
    • NCUV Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the North Carolina Union Volunteers formed during the American Civil War including soldiers, battles, regimental histories, and military and pension records for the 1st & 2nd North Carolina Union Volunteer Infantries and the 2nd & 3rd North Carolina Union Mounted Infantries. Archives: browse or search.
    • SOUTHEAST-PIONEERS Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the pioneers in Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
    • SWVA-NETN-SEKY-CHAT Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the area covered by a 150 mile radius around Bristol Virginia/Tennessee. This area covers southwest Virginia, northeast Tennessee, southeast Kentucky, and northwestern North Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • THE-ROAD Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Scottish/Palatine (German) ethnic mix along the traditional "Philadelphia Road" in Pennsylvania, Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. Archives: browse or search.
    • WARof1812-NC Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the participation of North Carolina in the War of 1812. Archives: browse or search.


    Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information


    Military


    Newspapers


    Occupations


    People & Families

    Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.


    Periodicals & Pamphlets

    Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets


    Photographs & Memories

    Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life


    Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services


    Publications, Software & Supplies


    Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists


    Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
    (Born, Married, Died & Buried)

    The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records.*  Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day.

    *Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.


    LeafCemeteries

    LeafCensus

    LeafLand

    LeafMiscellaneous

    LeafObituaries

    LeafVital Records: Birth, Marriage, Death


    Religion & Churches


    Societies & Groups


    U.S. - Counties, Localities and Regions



    LeafReport a Broken Link / Update a LinkLeaf




    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - U.S. - North Carolina
    Webmaster & Owner: Cyndi Howells, Cyndi@CyndisList.com
    Updated Thursday, 19 November 2009, 10:00:42 PM PST

    [Copyright © 1996-2009 Cyndi Howells. All rights reserved.]   [Disclaimers]   [Privacy]   [FAQ]   [Support Us]
    This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without the author's consent.
    Background and title banner graphics property of Cyndi Howells.

    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet


    Advertisements
    First Name:
    Last Name:

    Footnote.com

    Search Millions Of Original Documents

    First Name

    Last Name