Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
U.S. - Michigan
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Michigan:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
General Resource Sites
- AccessGenealogy - Michigan Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Michigan
- Ancestor Search - Michigan Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Michigan
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Michigan Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Michigan Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Michigan
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Michigan
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Michigan Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G Spot United States Adoption Registry for Michigan
- Kindred Trails - Michigan Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Michigan Research Room
- Looking 4 Kin - Michigan
- Michiana Roots
Website devoted to genealogical and historical research in southwestern Michigan and northern Indiana.
- Michigan County Clerks Directory
- Michigan Family History Network
- Michigan Historical Center
- The Michigan Migration Project
- The Olive Tree Genealogy: U.S.A. Genealogy - Michigan
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Michigan
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - MIGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Michigan in Databases or Michigan in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Michigan State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Michigan
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Michigan: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Michigan County Clerks Genealogy Directory
Provides information on records held, costs, and contact information for each County Clerks office holding genealogical information.
- Michigan Historical Center (Michigan Department of State)
- Michigan Local Government
Links to Official Home Pages of Michigan County Governments and more.
- Michigan State Government
- NACo - About Counties - Michigan
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Michigan
- Peelle's County Recorder Directory
Listing of addresses and phone numbers for all the county recorders.
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Michigan
- Williams, Michigan
A brief history of the ghost town of Williams, Michigan in Kalamazoo County. Some family names from the area are WILLIAMS, TALLMAN, GRICE, COYKENDALL, DOBBINS, SHIELDS, SELKRIG, DEAL, GARRISON, RECTOR, VAN ARDSDALE, HACKLEY, BUCKHOUT, CAVANAUGH.
- Yahoo! Get Local...Michigan Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Cadillac Michigan Postcards
View historic postcards from Cadillac, Michigan, including scenes from downtown, old homes, Lake Cadillac and many more.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Index of States/Camp Listing
- History of Michigan County Creation and Dissolution
Chart detailing the names, creation dates, dissolution dates and daughter-counties of counties in the state.
- Michigan's Historic Sites Online
Michigan's Historic Sites Online has over 3,000 historic sites for you to explore. Information and photos of places in Michigan listed in the National Register of Historic Places and the State Register of Historic Sites, as well as places with Michigan Historical Markers.
- Michigan History Online
Stories of Michigan people and their impact on their communities, the nation and the world.
- Michigan History Timeline
- Michigan Through the Years - A Brief History of the Great Lake State
- Mining History of Michigan Links
- Northern Michigan History (published 1895)
- Pioneering the Upper Midwest
Pioneering the Upper Midwest, ca. 1820-1910, contains seventeenth- to early twentieth-century accounts of Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin as recorded in 138 books drawn from the Library of Congress's General Collections and Rare Books and Special Collections Division.
- Program Source International - Michigan Video Histories
Video histories of towns in the 19th and 20th century.
- Reports of the Superintendent of Public Instruction, State of Michigan, 1858
- Review Mirror: A look back at our lives in Detroit
From the Detroit News. A living history project from story and photo archives.
- The Settling a State Gallery, MI Historical Museum
"Between 1830 and 1840 Michigan grew faster than any other state or territory.".
- Yahoo!...History...Michigan
- Archives of Michigan
- Bentley Historical Library - The University of Michigan
- Calvin College - Heritage Hall ~ Grand Rapids, Michigan
Heritage Hall has and makes available for research the records of Calvin College, Calvin Seminary, and the Christian Reformed Church in North America. In addition the collection holds the personal papers of the college and seminary faculty and staff, ministers in the denomination, and letters detailing the Dutch migration and the impact of this migration on North America.
- Clarke Historical Library - Central Michigan University
- Detroit Public Library
- Family History Centers in Michigan
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Michigan
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Gerald R. Ford Library and Museum
- Interactive Library Directory
Directory for approximately 1,900 Michigan libraries and library related organizations.
- The Joint Archives of Holland
Major repository for information on Dutch Americans who immigrated to the midwest after 1847, especially to western Michigan. Brings together the archives of the Holland Museum, Hope College, Western Seminary, and others. Collection catalog is searcable via the web and provides access to over 6,000 lf of archival materials.
- LIBCAT: US - Michigan
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Michigan
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- Library of Michigan
In the Michigan Library and Historical Center, Lansing, Michigan
- MAA - Michigan Archives
- Michigan Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Michigan Historical Center ~ Lansing
- Michigan Library Association - Home Pages of Michigan Libraries
- Michigan Technological University Archives & Copper Country Historical Collections ~ Houghton
- Museum of African-American History ~ Detroit
- Newberry Library | Bibliography of African American History - Michigan
- Newberry Library | Genealogy Bibliographies - Michigan
- PublicLibraries.com - Michigan
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Michigan
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Shiawassee District Library
Owosso and Durand, Michigan.
- United Methodist Church Annual Conference Archives Directory
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
IRISH-MI Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding Irish genealogy in Michigan. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Michigan.
-
MI-CEMETERIES Mailing List For anyone interested in locating and preserving historical information about Michigan cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Michigan census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
MI-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Michigan census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
MICHIGAN-AFAM Mailing List For anyone who is researching their African American ancestry in Michigan. Archives: browse or search.
-
MichiganNativeAm Mailing List For anyone who is researching their Native American ancestry in the Michigan area.
-
MichiganSearching Mailing List For adoptees and birth families conducting adoption searches in Michigan.
- Michigan Searching Online
An Internet mailing list devoted to search and support for those affected by the closed records adoption system in Michigan.
-
michchip Mailing List For anyone researching their Chippewa/Ojibwa ancestry in the Michigan area plus ancestors who go back to Colonists when there is a direct Michigan Native American connection.
-
MI-CIVILWAR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Michigan men and women who participated in the Civil War including regiments, battles, etc. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-GENEALOGY Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Michigan State. Archives: browse or search.
-
MIGenWeb-Gazette News, special reports and Michigan genealogy advice from the coordinators of the MIGenWeb Project.
-
MI-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Michigan. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-MEMORIES Mailing List For genealogical reminiscing about families in Michigan in order to put the lives of our ancestors in perspective. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-NEWSPAPER Mailing List For requesting and providing genealogy-related lookups in Michigan newspapers including announcements of births, engagements, marriages, deaths, or other events of family interest. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Michigan newspapers published prior to 1931. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the posting of articles and information, which have genealogical value, found in any Michigan newspaper prior to 1931.
-
MI-POLISH Mailing List For anyone researching their Polish ancestors in Michigan and searching for their ancestral villages in Poland. Archives: browse or search.
-
MI-WI-ROOTS-L Mailing List Michigan & Wisconsin. Archives: browse or search.
-
NISHNAWBE Mailing List For anyone researching Native Americans in Michigan and Wisconsin, and the fur traders connected with them. Archives: browse or search.
-
THREE-FIRES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Chippewa (Ojibwe), Ottawa, and Potawatomi native americans in Michigan. Archives: browse or search.
-
WMGS-NEWS Email version of the Western Michigan Genealogical Society's newsletter to Members and interested non-Members of the Society. Archives: browse or search.
-
WMGS-TALK For anyone with a genealogical interest in Western Michigan. Archives: browse or search.
- 1895 U.S. Atlas - Michigan
Scanned images of county and state maps, index of towns.
- American Memory Panoramic Maps 1847-1929 - Michigan
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
- American Memory Railroad Maps 1828-1900 - Michigan
From the Geography and Map Division, Library of Congress.
-
Ancestry.com - Map of Michigan Territory 1805-1837
-
Ancestry.com - Michigan Gazetteer, 1839 Searchable database available by subscription.
- Circa 1930 City Directories Available at NARA - Michigan
Listing of microfilmed city directories available at the National Archives.
- Color Landform Atlas: Michigan
Including a map of counties and a map for 1895.
- Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
From the USGS. Provides cemetery location information, as well as other physical features within a county and state.
- K.B. Slocum Books and Maps - Michigan
- Map of Michigan Counties (Lower) and (Upper)
- MapQuest: World Atlas: Michigan
- Michigan State Gazetteer and Business Directory for 1860
- Official map of Michigan, railroad, township and sectional
Scanned image of 1885 map prepared under the direction of the commissioner of railroads.
- The Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Michigan Maps
From The University of Texas at Austin.
-
RootsWeb Town Search - TownCo Enter the name of a U.S. town to learn the name of the county where that town is located.
- U.S. Census Bureau - State and County QuickFacts - Michigan County Selection Map
- U.S. City Directories on Microfilm in the Microform Reading Room - Michigan
At the Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.
- USGenWeb Archives, United States Digital Map Library
- Yale Peabody Museum: GNIS - Michigan
Search the USGS Geographic Names Database. You can limit the search to a specific county in this state and search for any of the following features: airport arch area arroyo bar basin bay beach bench bend bridge building canal cape cemetery channel church cliff crater crossing dam falls flat forest gap geyser glacier gut harbor hospital island isthmus lake lava levee locale mine oilfield other park pillar plain ppl range rapids reserve reservoir ridge school sea slope spring stream summit swamp tower trail tunnel valley well woods.
- 1st Regiment Michigan Sharpshooters
- 2nd Michigan Cavalry Homepage
- 2nd Michigan Volunteer Infantry - A Civil War Re-enacting and Information Page
Canadians involvement in the American Civil War. Why they fought, Soldiers Bio's, Canadian Women in the ranks and much more info.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Michigan
- Civil War Rosters - Michigan
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- Department of Military and Veterans Affairs - History of Military & Veteran Affairs
Including Michigan military history, military personalities, museums and forts, and military history links.
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Michigan
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Michigan Family History Network - Michigan Volunteers Spanish American War 1898
- Michigan in the Civil War 1861-1866
- Michigan in the Civil War - A Guide to the Resources in the Bentley Historical Library
The Bentley Library has more than four hundred collections pertaining to the participation of Michigan men and military units in the Civil War. Online indexes to names, regiments, battles, portraits and "Brown's card index headings.".
- Michigan Regimental Rosters
- Michigan Soldiers
From the book "Soldiers of the Great War".
- Michigan Soldiers in the Patriot War, 1838-1839
A list of the volunteer soldiers serving in Capt. Isaac Rowland's Independent Company, Brady Guards, Michigan Militia.
- Michigan Veterans' Facility / Michigan Old Soldiers' Home at Grand Rapids
- Polar Bear Expedition Digital Collections
This database is a compiled list of men who fought in the "Polar Bear Expedition" or the American Intervention in Northern Russia, 1918-1919 at the end of WWI.
- Third Michigan Infantry Project
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Michigan
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Michigan
- ABYZ News Links - Michigan - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Footnote.com - Michigan Newspapers
Clare County Review, Montmorency County Tribune. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription.
- Home Town News - Michigan
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- Index of African-American Articles at G.R.P.L.
The information was abstracted from the local Grand Rapids Newspapers and other Michigan newspapers by Professor Carl Bajema, placed in the Local History Department of the Grand Rapids Public Library - Main Branch. These records cover a time period from 1830 - 1935.
- Michigan Newspaper Project
- MLive.com: Everything Michigan
Links several city newspapers of Southern Michigan.
- The Monroe Evening News ~ Michigan
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Michigan
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Michigan
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Michigan
- NewspaperLinks.com - Michigan
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Michigan News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Michigan
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Michigan Newspapers
- SPAN - Serials, Periodicals, and Newspapers
A database of over 201,000 journals, magazines and newspapers found in Michigan's libraries.
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Michigan Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Michigan Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Michigan
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- African American Genealogy Resources: States/Michigan
From Christine's Genealogy Website.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Michigan
-
Ancestry.com - Michigan Biographical Sketches, 1870-1900 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Michigan Native Americans History, 1887 Searchable database available by subscription.
- Census of the Scattered Bands of Potawatomies in Wisconsin and Michigan, 30 June 1915
Carter, Forest County, Wisconsin (Potawatomi Indians) 1915 Census performed by W.W. Bennett, Superintendent, for Commissioner of Indian Affairs, United States Indian Service, Department of the Interior.
- Index of African-American Articles at G.R.P.L.
The information was abstracted from the local Grand Rapids Newspapers and other Michigan newspapers by Professor Carl Bajema, placed in the Local History Department of the Grand Rapids Public Library - Main Branch. These records cover a time period from 1830 - 1935.
- Irish in Michigan
There is a Surname registry to add your Surnames or check those that are there.
- Michigan Biographies Project
- Michigan Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Michigan Polonia
Information on Michigan and Polish heritage.
- Native American Genealogy: Records and Research
- Native American Research in Michigan
Using the Ottawa, Chippewa and Potawatomi tribes as examples.
- Negro Settlers of Michigan
Original Negro settlers of Montcalm, Isabella, and Mecosta - Central Michigan.
- Ottawa and Chippewas of Michigan
1870 Census, 1908 Durant Roll and the 1910 Durant Supplemental Roll.
- People of the Three Fires Native Genealogy
Native American Genealogy in Michigan "People of the 3 fires" the Chippewa (Ojibwe), the Ottawa and the Potawatomi.
- Tribes and Villages of Michigan
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Bentley Image Bank, Bentley Historical Library
The Bentley Image Bank includes images from the holdings of the Bentley Historical Library at the University of Michigan. The collection is open to the public.
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Michigan
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Michigan
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Michigan
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Michigan
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Adoption Connections
A Michigan adoption triad informational site.
- Amelia Castle's Genealogy Service
Birth, Marriage and Death information in the Michigan counties of Cass and Van Buren.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Michigan or Specializing in Michigan
- Diane's Michigan Genealogy Page
Professional Genealogist serving Southeastern Michigan, Southwestern Ontario, Northwestern Ohio.
- Family History Research by Elizabeth LaDouceur
Research service for Upper Canada, Canada West, Southern Ontario & the early Detroit area.
- Genealogy Helplist - Michigan
- Genealogy Professional Michigan Research: Ruth McMahon AG Genealogist
Michigan research speciality City of Detroit and Wayne County.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Heritage Pathways, Inc., Genealogy and Local History Services
Located in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Professional research for Indiana, southern Michigan, northwestern Ohio, and northeastern Illinois. The site also features tutorials for PERSI, file transcription and publications for sale.
- Laura Prescott - Genealogy Research & Education
Michigan, Ohio, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Vermont, Connecticut, Maine, and Rhode Island.
- Michigan Ancestry Tracer Genealogy Services
A moderate fee based genealogy service. Focus is Detroit (Wayne), Oakland and St. Clair Counties.
- Michigan and Ohio Genealogical Research
Specializing in professional research in SE Michigan and NW Ohio.
- Michigan Genealogist for Michigan - Karen Olszeski
- miprofgenie.com - Michigan Professional Genealogy
Research for Michigan, specializing in SE Michigan & Oakland County.
- Professional Genealogist for Michigan Counties of Ionia and Montcalm - Beth Wills
Genealogy research and consulting in the Mid-Michigan area, particularly Ionia and Montcalm counties. Medical Research and consulting a speciality.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Michigan
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Shirley M. De Boer, CG
Grand Rapids, Michigan professional researcher specializing in migrations from New England, through New York to Michigan and the Midwest.
- Workshops and Seminars
Ceil Jensen of Michigan Polonia.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- 84 Charing Cross, EH? - Good Used/Rare Books
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - Michigan
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
- Allegan County Historical Atlas and Gazetteer
A book by Kit Lane.
- Cemetery Inscriptions and Records, 1839-1985
A book by the Branch County Genealogical Society.
- Elmwood Endures : History of a Detroit Cemetery
A book by Michael S. Franck.
- First Landowners, Livingston County, Michigan
A book by Milton Charboneau.
- Genealogists Guide to Northeastern Michigan
A book by Victoria Wilson.
- Genealogist's Guide to Northwest Michigan
A book by Victoria Wilson.
- Genealogist's Guide to Southwestern Michigan
A book by Victoria Wilson.
- Genealogist's Guide to the Capitol Region of Michigan
A book by Victoria Wilson.
- Genealogist's Guide to Upper Peninsula of Michigan
A book by Victoria Wilson.
- The Genealogy of the French Families of the Detroit River Region, 1701-1936
A book by Christian Denissen.
- Greenwood and Mount Olivet Cemeteries, Fowlerville, Michigan: Transcribed Records
A book by Milton Charboneau.
- Index to Michigan Research in Genealogical Periodicals
A book by M. Quigley.
- Marriage Records of Monroe County, Michigan (Volume 1)
A book by The Genealogical Society of Monroe County.
- Michigan : Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
A book by John H. Long.
- Michigan : A History of the Wolverine State
A book by Willis F. Dunbar.
- Michigan Oakland County Genealogical Society Surname Directory
A book by the Oakland County Genealogical Society.
- Michigan Place Names
A book by Walter Romig.
- Michigan Poor Law
A book by Isabel Bruce.
- Native American Research in Michigan
A book by Victoria Wilson.
- Passage to America, 1851-1869 : The Records of Richard Elliott, Passenger Agent, Detroit, Michigan
A book by Richard Elliott & Mary L. Duncan.
- Quincy Lakeview Cemetery Inscriptions and Records, 1837-1983
A book by the Branch County Genealogical Society.
- Wexford County Michigan Cemeteries-Colfax Township
A book by the Cadillac Area Genealogical Society Staff.
- AncestorSpy - CDs and Microfiche for Michigan
- Archive CD Books USA
Digital reproductions (or e-books) of old books, maps, and other rare genealogical material.
- Arphax Publishing Co. - Home of the Family Maps Land Patent Books
The Family Maps Land Patent Books are published county by county, state by state. Data for each county is compiled from the Federal Land Patents database and displayed in these customized books. All books include a Patent Map and Patent Index for each of the Congressional Townships within the county. Deluxe Editions also include for each Township: a Road Map and a Historical Map, which includes waterways, watercourses & railroads. The Road and Historical Maps also include city-centers and cemeteries that can be found at NationalAtlas.gov. All books contain a separate Surname/Patent Index and a Surname/Township Index to help you dive into the right area of the county to find the location of your ancestor's federal land purchase. Family Maps books are a helpful visual reference tool that makes your federal lands research easier than ever.
- Barbara Green's Used Genealogy Books - Michigan
- Books We Own - Michigan
Find a book from which you would like a lookup and click on the submitter's code at the end of the entry. Once you find the contact information for the submitter, write them a polite request for a lookup. Be sure to follow the Tips for making a request . See also the Frequently Asked Questions about Copyright page and please also consider reading through: How to Contribute to Books We Own.
- Boyd Publishing Company - Michigan
See their home page for details on placing an order.
- eBay Listings: Search for Michigan Genealogy
Online auction service for buying & selling.
- Genealogical.com - Michigan
The online store of Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc. & Clearfield Company.
- Heritage Books: Michigan
- Higginson Book Company - Michigan
- Kinseeker Publications
- McCormick Books
Specializing in used genealogy, history and Michigan history books.
- Nancy Corwin's Vital Records Books
Vital record books for Cass County, Van Buren County and a few more for the state of Michigan.
- Quintin Publications | Michigan
- Publications from Faded Genes
Publications of Northeast Michigan; Counties of Alpena, Alcona, Montmorency.
- Quintin Publications - Michigan
- SK Publications Census CDs and Books - Michigan
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1820 Federal Population Census for Michigan for the Territory of Michigan
- 1830 Census of Michigan Territory
Including the upper and lower peninsulas of Michigan, what is now Wisconsin, and some of the northern reaches of what is now Minnesota.
- 1870 Census - Compiled and presented by the Library of Michigan
Includes a searchable index and census images.
- AccessGenealogy - Michigan Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online | Michigan
-
Ancestry.com - Michigan Census, 1827-70 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1820 ,
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
Mortality Schedules 1850-1880 ,
1860 ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1890 Veterans Schedules ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you ar |