Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Idaho
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Idaho:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Idaho Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Idaho
- Ancestor Search - Idaho Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Idaho
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Idaho Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Idaho Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Idaho
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Idaho
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Idaho Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Idaho
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Idaho Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Idaho Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- G's Adoption Registry - Idaho
- Kindred Trails - Idaho Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Idaho Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Idaho
- Looking 4 Kin - Idaho
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Idaho
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Idaho
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - IDGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Idaho in Databases or Idaho in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- Yahoo!...Idaho...Genealogy
- 50states.com - Idaho State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Idaho
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Idaho: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- NACo - About Counties - Idaho
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Idaho
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- State of Idaho Home Page
- USA CityLink Project - Idaho
- Yahoo! Get Local...Idaho Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Idaho
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- Ghost Towns of Idaho
- The History of Idaho
Article by Rickie Lazzerini.
- A Hundred Years of the History of Idaho
- Idaho Historical Railroads
- Idaho History Timeline
- Idaho State Historical Society - Historic Sites
- Mountain Men and the Fur Trade
Sources of the History of the Fur Trade in the Rocky Mountain West.
- Weston Memories
- Yahoo!...History...Idaho
- Basque Museum and Cultural Center ~ Boise
- Family History Centers in Idaho
From the FamilySearch web site. Includes address, telephone number and hours of operation.
- Family History Library Catalog
From the FamilySearch web site, an online catalog to the holdings of the LDS Church in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also search for other localities by place name.
- FamilySearch - Family History Centers in Idaho
A list of local LDS Family History Centers along with addresses and hours of operation.
- Idaho Family History Centers
A list of addresses, phone numbers and hours of operation from the Genealogy Home Page.
- Idaho State Historical Society Library & Archives
The Idaho State Historical Society serves as the state archives and holds a variety of public records created by state and local governments, such as state agencies, counties, and cities. The collection includes territorial records; papers from most governors; selected vital, financial, and court records; and a variety of other materials.
- Idaho State Library
- LIBCAT: US - Idaho
A directory of library resources on the Internet.
- LibDex - The Library Index - Idaho
A worldwide directory of links to library homepages and web-based OPACs (Online Public Access Catalogs).
- PublicLibraries.com - Idaho
- Repositories of Primary Sources: Idaho
A list of links to online resources from the Univ. of Idaho Library, Special Collections and Archives.
- Special Collections and Archives at the University of Idaho Library
- United Methodist Church - General Commission on Archives & History - Directory for Local and Regional United Methodist Archives
List of annual conference archive contacts for the state. For local Methodist church records, your best resource is the annual conference archives. The boundaries of the annual conference do not necessarily coincide with state boundaries, and some states may have several conferences within their borders.
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
EWANIDA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Eastern Washington and Northern Idaho. Archives: browse or search.
-
IDAHO Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Idaho. Archives: browse or search.
-
ID-CEMETERIES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the locations and preservation of historical information for Idaho cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
ID-CEMETERY-PRESERVATION Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the preservation of historic Idaho cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
ID-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Idaho census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
ID-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Idaho census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
ID-FREEDMEN Mailing List For with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Idaho from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
IDGEN-L Mailing List Part of the USGenWeb Project, for discussing the creation of a single source for all Idaho genealogy databases.
-
ID-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Idaho. Archives: browse or search.
-
ID-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
IDRESERV Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Native American tribes who have reservations in Idaho. Archives: browse or search.
-
OREGON-TRAIL Mailing List For those who want to research their family history concerning anything to do with the Oregon Trail. The history of the trail is an appropriate topic for discussion as well as postings of wagon train lists, and anything else genealogical including stories of life as a pioneer, diaries, queries, books, etc.Western states involved would mostly be Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington; maybe even California, Utah and others. Time periods include around 1840-1900. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing list Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Idaho
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Idaho
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Idaho
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Idaho
- ABYZ News Links - Idaho - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Footnote.com - Idaho Newspapers
Aberdeen Times, American Falls Press, Franklin County Citizen, Genesee News, Island Park News, Kendrick Gazette, Kuna Melba News, Latah Eagle, News-Examiner, Power County Press, Preston Citizen. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Idaho
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Idaho
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- Idaho Newspaper Association
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Idaho
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Idaho
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Idaho
- NewspaperLinks.com - Idaho
- TheOldenTimes.com: Old Idaho News
Historic newspapers online: births, deaths & marriages, notices, old news, legal notices, recipes & more, all scanned from original issues of 18th-20th century newspapers. Index of names, site search.
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Idaho
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Idaho Newspapers
- Standard Examiner Newspaper Articles
Standard Examiner Newspaper that cover northern Utah, some Salt Lake City & surrounding areas as well as southern Idaho newspaper obits, births, deaths, marriages, etc.
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Idaho Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Idaho Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Idaho
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
 For Alaska, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Idaho
- Bohemian Homesteaders
Bohemian Homesteaders in Montana and Idaho at the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.
- GEDCOM Index .com - Idaho
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- Idaho Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Idaho County Biographical Index
Biographies from north Idaho.
- Idaho Indian Reservations
- Idaho State Historical Society - Idaho State and Territorial Penitentiary Inmate Files, from 1864
 Old Idaho Penitentiary. Multiple indexes covering 1864-1975.
- Nez Perce Tribe Web Site ~ Lapwai
- Tribes and Villages of Idaho
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Idaho
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Idaho
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Idaho
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Idaho
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Bear Your Family History
Idaho research especially Bannock, Bingham, Bonneville, and Power counties.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Idaho or Specializing in Idaho
- Genealogyidaho.com
Complete research on any Idaho problem. Have acess to Idaho State Archives. Will do on-site court house research, etc.
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Idaho
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- Surname P.I., Professional Genealogist For Hire ~ Boise, Idaho
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1870 and 1880 Agricultural, Industrial, Mortality and Other Special Census Schedules for Idaho
Staff and volunteers of the Idaho State Historical Society Library and Archives have created an index to the 1870 and 1880 Agricultural, Industrial, Mortality and Other Special (non-population) Census Schedules for Idaho. These special schedules are rich with historical and genealogical information and are available only from the L&A.
- 1890 Idaho Census - Idaho, 1890: A Reconstructed Census
Staff, volunteers, and interns of the Idaho State Historical Society Library and Archives have compiled a reconstructed census index for Idaho by compiling names from a variety of government records, local newspaper articles, and nationally-published genealogical magazines. The time period covers 1885 through 1894.
- AccessGenealogy - Idaho Census Records
Census links for online census research.
-
Ancestry.com - Idaho Census, 1870-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Idaho
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- BLM - Idaho Electronic Reading Room
United States Bureau of Land Management.
- The Bureau of Land Management - Idaho
-
County Courthouse Addresses
- County Records on Microfilm
The Idaho State Historical Society Library and Archives (L&A) holds microfilm copies of county records from around the state. Included are citizenship, civil and criminal court, land and property, wills and probate court, tax, and vital (birth, marriage, death) records. "County Records on Microfilm" is an index to those materials. Some microfilm is also available from LDS Family History Centers, but much is available only from the L&A.
- Genealogical Records in Idaho
From the University of Idaho Library, Special Collections Dept.
- Idaho County Biographical Index
Biographies from north Idaho.
- Idaho State Historical Society - Naturalization Records at the Public Archives and Research Library
Staff and interns at the Idaho State Historical Society Library and Archives have created an index to naturalization records held by the L&A. The index includes name, date, record type, and source of the information. The page also includes a brief overview of the naturalization process and information on how to contact staff for additional information.
- Mother's Pension Records - Idaho State Historical Society
The index to mother's pension records is created by staff of the Idaho State Historical Society Library and Archives from original records in their custody. Includes first and last names of applicant and dependants, relationship of dependant to applicant, and county where pension was granted.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Native American Land Patents - Idaho
A listing by state and Tribe of land patents.
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Idaho Counties, United States
- University of Idaho Graduates: Class of 1897; 1898; 1899 & 1900
University of Idaho [Moscow] Alumni.
- University of Idaho Graduates: Class of 1893; 1894; 1895; 1896
University of Idaho [Moscow, Idaho] Alumni. The University of Idaho opened its doors on October 3, 1892. Franklin B. Gault was the first President of the University and John Edwin Ostrander was the first professor to teach at the University of Idaho.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- ObitsArchive.com - Idaho
 The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Idaho Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Idaho Death Index, 1911-1950
- Idaho Department of Health & Welfare - Application for Certificate of Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce
Contact information, fees, and printable request forms for obtaining vital records from Idaho.
- MyVitalRec.com - Idaho Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Idaho
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Idaho
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Idaho Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- Western States Marriage Search Form
Index for marriages in western states, including mostly pre-1900 marriages in Arizona, Idaho and Nevada. Also some counties in California, western Colorado, Montana, Oregon, Utah, eastern Washington, and Wyoming.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Idaho
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|