Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Florida
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Florida:
- Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Florida Genealogy Resource Center
- American Local History Network - Florida
- Ancestor Search - Florida Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Florida
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Florida Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- Family Tree Connection - Florida Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Florida State Genealogical Society - Calendar
Upcoming genealogy-related events taking place in Florida.
- Footnote.com - Florida
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Florida
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Florida Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Florida
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Florida Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Florida Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- Ghost Counties - Your Guide To America's Dead, Forgotten Counties
Remembering those counties across America that have been disbanded or discontinued.
- Kindred Trails - Florida Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Florida Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Florida
- Looking 4 Kin - Florida
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Florida
- Southeast USA Genealogy
For people interested in genealogy research anywhere in the United States, especially in the Southeast (including the states of Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Florida, Tennessee, West Virginia, Missouri, Virginia, Arkansas, Louisiana, Ohio, Maryland, South Carolina, and North Carolina.) A mailing list with corresponding message board, related links, a CD Lookup request page, a free forwarding e-mail address, and a page where researchers can register their relevant surnames.
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Florida
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - FLGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Florida in Databases or Florida in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- 50states.com - Florida State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- Court Web Sites - Florida
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- FindLaw: Florida: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Florida Association of Court Clerks & Comptrollers
Includes a directory of court clerks with contact information.
- MyFlorida.com - Taxonomy - Government
- NACo - About Counties - Florida
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Florida
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- USA CityLink Project - Florida
- Yahoo! Get Local...Florida Counties and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Civilian Conservation Corps Legacy
- Florida Division of Historical Resources
One of seven divisions within the Department of State, and the state agency responsible for promoting the historical, archaeological, museum and folk culture resources in Florida.
- Florida History Fair
- Florida History Timeline
- Florida History Internet Master Page
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Florida
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- MyFlorida.com - Office of Cultural & Historical Preservation
- Yahoo!...History...Florida
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
APG-FLORIDA Mailing List For anyone interested in establishing a Florida chapter of the Association of Professional Genealogists (APG) and investigating how this chapter would benefit genealogists, editors, etc. who live in Florida or spend much of their time in Florida. Archives: browse or search.
-
DEEP-SOUTH-ROOTS-L Mailing List Alabama, Florida, Georgia & Mississippi.
-
FINDING-IN-FLORIDA Mailing List For those conducting adoption searches in Florida.
-
FL-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone researching their African-American ancestry in Florida. Archives: browse or search.
-
FL-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Florida.
-
FL-CENSUS Mailing List For the volunteers who are engaged in transcribing Florida census records in support of the USGenWeb Census Project to discuss the status of the project.
-
FL-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Florida census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. Archives: browse or search.
-
FL-FREEDMEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in Florida from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
-
FL-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Florida. Archives: browse or search.
-
FL-NE-CEMETERY Mailing List Main focus is locating human burial sites in the northeast Florida area. Archives: browse or search.
-
FL-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For . Archives: browse or search.
-
FL-OLUSTEE-BATTLE-KIN Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the ancestors and descendants of those who fought in the civil war Battle of Olustee, Florida, on February 20, 1864. Archives: browse or search.
-
FLORIDA Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
florida_triad Mailing List Adoption search and support for those conducting adoption searches in Florida.
-
FSGS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the activities of the Florida State Genealogical Society (FSGS). Archives: browse or search.
-
IRISH-IN-FLORIDA Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Irish ancestry in Florida. Archives: browse or search.
-
LOUISIANA-SPANISH Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the ancestors and descendants of the Spanish settlers in Louisiana and West Florida. Archives: browse or search.
-
NFLASGA Mailing List For anyone who is researching families in and from North Florida and South Georgia. Archives: browse or search.
-
SEGAKIN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in southeast Georgia and northeast Florida. Archives: browse or search.
-
SEMINOLE-WARS Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
WIREGRASS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Wiregrass area of Georgia, Florida and Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
-
Ancestry.com - WWI Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 - Florida Scanned images available by subscription.
- Battle of Olustee
- Captain Henry Mulrenan's Florida Volunteer Coast Guards
A roster of the personnel who served in Henry Mulrenan's state Coast Guard unit between November, 1861 and April, 1862.
- The Civil War Archive - Union Regiments - Florida
- Civil War Battle Summaries by State - Florida
- Civil War Florida -- THE source for information on Florida's Civil War Soldiers
- The Civil War in Florida
Includes Wakulla, Franklin, Jefferson, and Leon counties. Includes muster rolls for units from the state.
- Civil War Rosters - Florida
List of links to web sites with rosters for each state.
- C.S.A. 9th Florida Infantry
- FloridaBrigade.org -- THE source for information on Florida's Confederate Soldiers
Interactive archive of information about the 2nd, 5th, and 8th Florida Infantry Regiments that fought in the American Civil War. Its purpose is to further our knowledge of the Floridians who served their state in the Army of Northern Virginia during 1861-1865.
- Florida Civil War Genealogy
Links of interest for Florida Civil War researchers and the email address for a look-up volunteer, David Hartman, who is a co-compiler of Biographical Roster of Florida's Confederate and Union Soldiers 1861-1865.
- Florida Confederate Pension Application Files
Record Group 137, Series 587. Search this online index then follow the instructions for ordering a copy of the pension file.
- Florida in the Civil War
- Florida In The Civil War Message Board
- Florida's Medal of Honor Recipients
- Footnote.com - Southern Claims Commission
 In 1871, the US government established the Southern Claims Commission to address southerners' petitions for compensation of supplies, livestock, and other items taken by the Union troops during the Civil War. More than 20,000 claims were filed. These testimonial files include first-person accounts of how civilians survived the war, detailed circumstances regarding loss of property, and accounts of each family's history and loyalty to the Union cause. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- History of the Fourth Florida Regiment
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Florida
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Third Florida Infantry, Company B - St. Augustine Blues (C.S.A.)
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Florida
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Florida
- ABYZ News Links - Florida - Newspapers and News Sources
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- A Brief History of Newspaper Publishing in Florida
- The Florida Newspaper Project
- Footnote.com - Florida Newspapers
DeFuniak Springs Herald, Heritage Florida Jewish News, FSView and The Florida Flambeau. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Florida
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Florida
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Florida
- NewsLink Newspapers U.S. Florida
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Florida
- NewspaperLinks.com - Florida
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Florida
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Florida Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Florida Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Florida Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Florida
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Florida
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Florida
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
- Old-Yearbooks.com - Florida
Old high school & college yearbooks, graduation programs, reunion booklets, class rolls, alumni lists, school photos & memorabilia.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Florida
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Florida or Specializing in Florida
- Carolyn Brassell, Family History Consultant
Research services for Duval, St. John's, Nassau & Clay counties, Florida.
- Family History Research in the Southeastern United States
Southeastern Roots. Professional genealogical research for clients, as well as lectures and workshops relative to the states of Alabama, Florida, and Georgia.
- Florida State Archives Help
Free lookups and resource search for Florida ancestors in the books, manuscripts and microfilm collections at the State Archives in Tallahassee.
- Genealogy Helplist - Florida
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Eastern and Southern United States
Including the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
- Genealogy Record Search
Searches for your ancestor through military and census records, passenger lists, city and student directories, and more.
- Karen Chappell, Genealogy Consultant
Specializing in research in Southern Illinois and Central Florida.
- My Sixteen - Robert W. Marlin - Professional Genealogical Research ~ Maitland, Florida
- Ohio Family Research - Yolanda Campbell Lifter
Professional genealogist specializing in Ohio research.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Florida
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
- SE Florida Research and Records Retrieval - Professional Genealogy Research from St. Lucie to Monroe County
Professional genealogy research in six counties along the southeastern coast, from St. Lucie County to Key West in Monroe County (includes Martin, Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade Counties).
-
Ancestry.com - Message Boards - Florida
- Florida in the Civil War Message Board
-
RootsWeb Surname List - RSL Florida
The RSL and this form concept & design are courtesy of Karen Isaacson
- SE USA Genealogy Forum on About.com
This forum is primarily for genealogy discussion/research involving the Southeast USA states (Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia). Post your southern surnames, air your views on issues, ask questions, share research tips or photos, tell us about your personal genealogy site and join in our fun games and contests.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
- 1850 Census of St Johns County, FL
- AccessGenealogy - Florida Census Records
Census links for online census research.
- African American Census Schedules Online - Florida
-
Ancestry.com - Florida Census, 1820-90 Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - Florida State Census, 1885 Census images available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com - U.S. Federal Censuses Browse by census year, state, county, township. Census images available with fee-based subscription:
1830 ,
1840 ,
1850 ,
1850 Slave Schedules ,
1860 ,
1860 Slave Schedules ,
1870 ,
1880 ,
1900 ,
1910 ,
1920 ,
1930
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Census Online - Links to Online Census Data - Florida
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- Florida Census Records - Guide
From University of South Florida Tampa Campus Library.
- HeritageQuest - US Federal Census Schedules Available on Microfilm
Digitized images of the complete US Census from 1790 to 1930 for sale on microfilm.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Florida Land Records Searchable database available by subscription.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Florida
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Florida. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- The Bureau of Land Management -- Eastern States, General Land Office
The Official Land Patent Records Site. This site has a searchable database of over two million pre-1908 Federal land title records, including scanned images of those records. The Eastern Public Land States covered in this database are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin.
- Confirmed Spanish Land Grants Claims ~ Tallahassee
Spanish land grants in Florida / prepared by the Historical Records Survey Division of Community Service Programs, Works Projects Administration. 2nd ed. Tallahassee : State Library Board, 1942.
-
Genealogy.com - County Resources
- Florida Confederate Pension Application Files
Search this online index then follow the instructions for ordering a copy of the pension file.
- Florida Memory
Selection of historical records that illustrate moments in Florida history, educational resources for students of all ages and archival collections for historical research. The Project utilizes selected original records, photographs and other materials from the collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida.
- Freedmen's Bureau Records
Selected Florida records.
- Government Land Office
Original GLO survey plats and field notes for Florida. Search by range and township. View origial survey document to locate ancestor's exact location.
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Florida Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- The News-Press: Obituaries ~ Florida
Obituary search engine. Over 37,000 obituaries, many from Florida.
- ObitsArchive.com - Florida
 The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Florida Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Family Search Record Search
Millions of indexed records and images of records. Join volunteers around the world who are helping to make more free records available online through FamilySearch Indexing.
- Florida Department of Health - Vital Records
From the Florida Department of Health. Provides contact information, fees, and availability information on Florida vital records.
- Florida Wedding Bells
Post marriages that took place prior to 1900.
- Freedman's Bureau, Marriages in Jacksonville, Florida 1861-1869
- I Dream of Genealogy - Death Records / Obituaries
- St. Augustine Parish Registers, Baptisms, Marriages, Burials, 1594-1638
The oldest surviving original vital record created in what became the United States. Includes a picture and translation of this very first surviving marriage record from 1594.
- MyVitalRec.com - Florida Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Florida
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Florida
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records--FloridasHealth.org
From the Florida Department of Health. Provides contact information, fees, and availability information on Florida vital records.
- Vital Records US - Florida Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- VitalSearch - Florida (USA): Florida State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Florida
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|