|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
Databases - Searchable Online
|
|
- FamilySearch Internet Genealogy Service
THE genealogy web site of the LDS Church. Includes the ability to search the IGI, the Ancestral File, the Family History Library Catalog, and web site submissions. Also has user mailing lists, online ordering of FHL research materials and allows you to preserve your own research online.
- Family Tree Connection
Unique collections of records. Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- Sources2Go.com
Images of digitized primary records including census records, military records, immigration records and postal records.
See also: Cyndi's List - Births & Baptisms
-
Ancestry.com - Birth, Marriage, & Death Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- Arizona Genealogy Birth and Death Certificates
Online searchable database of scanned images for birth records 1887-1928 & death records 1878-1953.
- New South Wales Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- The Origins Network
 Comprehensive and exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the 13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books to browse.
- ScotlandsPeople
The official government source of genealogical data for Scotland. A partnership between General Register Office for Scotland, the National Archives of Scotland and the Court of the Lord Lyon enabled by Scotland Online.
- Vital Events Indexes - BC Archives ~ Canada
See also: Cyndi's List - Cemeteries & Funeral Homes
See also: Cyndi's List - Census Related Sites Worldwide
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Census
-
Ancestry.com - Search Birth Records, Death Records, Marriage Records and US Census Records Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Search by locality or record type, including U.S. Census, Social Security Death Index (SSDI), PERSI, Ancestry World Tree and much more.
- FindYourFamilyTree.com
- GenealogyBank.com
Subscription based service from NewsBank Inc. Includes more than 214 million family history records from SSDI, modern obituaries, historical newspapers, historical books, and historical documents (military, land, etc.).
- GenealogyBank.com - New Content
A synopsis of the new content added each month.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Books 1801-1900
Complete text of more than 11,700 books, pamphlets and printed items including: genealogies, biographies, funeral sermons, local histories, cards, charts and more - all published in the U.S. prior to 1900. New content added monthly.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Documents 1789-1980
Find military records, casualty lists, Revolutionary and Civil War pension requests, widow's claims, orphan petitions, land grants and much more including all of the American State Papers (1789-1838) and all genealogical content carefully selected from the U.S. Serial Set (1817-1980). More than 133,000 reports, lists and documents. New content added monthly.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Newspapers 1690-1977
108.6+ million articles, obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements and other items published in more than 500,000 issues of over 2,400 historical U.S. newspapers. New content added monthly.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Over 23 million obituaries, 1977 to current
More than 26.6 million obituaries (the most complete collection from the 20th and 21st centuries) from more than 1,000 U.S. newspapers. New content added daily.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Social Security Death Index 1937-current
Search more than 81.1 million death records. This is the only SSDI site to be updated weekly.
-
Genealogy.com
- LinkMyFamilyTree Genealogy
Search surnames, census, cemetery, birth and marriage details. Merge family trees and contact related descendants.
- Ohio River Valley Families Genealogical Database Master Index
A pay-for-use database searchable by name or location of early Ohio Valley Settlers with GEDCOM downloads, military and burial records plus ancestor and descendant charts.
- The Origins Network
 Comprehensive and exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the 13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books to browse.
See also: Cyndi's List - Death Records
-
Ancestry.com - Birth, Marriage, & Death Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- Arizona Genealogy Birth and Death Certificates
Online searchable database of scanned images for birth records 1887-1928 & death records 1878-1953.
- Genealogical Death Indexing System, Michigan (GENDIS)
The current system contains information on 150,000 Michigan death records from 1867-1882. Additional records for 1881 and 1882 have been newly added to the system during the week of July 12, 1999.
- Kentucky Vital Records Index
Marriage / Divorce / Death.
- Minnesota Death Certificates Index
Online searchable index of death certificates in Minnesota counties from 1908 through 1996. Copies may be ordered online.
- New South Wales Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages
- Obituary Daily Times
- Ohio Online Death Certificate Index, 1913-1944
Searchable database from the Ohio Historical Society, Archives/Library.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- The Origins Network
 Comprehensive and exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the 13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books to browse.
- Seventh-day Adventist Periodical Index / Obituary Index
Has a searchable obituary index and more.
- Tacoma Area Obituaries ~ Washington
- Vital Events Indexes - BC Archives ~ Canada
See also: Cyndi's List - Ellis Island
See also: Cyndi's List - Immigration & Naturalization
See also: Cyndi's List - Ports of Departure
See also: Cyndi's List - Ports of Entry
See also: Cyndi's List - Ships & Passenger Lists
-
Ancestry.com - Immigration Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- Danish Emigration Archives
Searchable database for 1869 to 1904, working on records thru 1940.
- Ellis Island - FREE Port of New York Passenger Records Search
Online searchable database of over 22 million passenger names covering roughly 70% of the immigrants processed through Ellis Island between 1892 and 1924.
- Fylkesarkivet i Sogn og Fjordane - Databases
Norwegian census, land, church, emigration, probate records, etc.
- Hamburg Link To Your Roots
Searchable database extracted from the Hamburg Passenger Lists for selected years.
- inGeneas Canadian Genealogical Research Services ~ Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Searchable database containing 750,000+ Canadian passenger, immigration, census, land, vital and military records (c1750 to 1900) including the only electronic version of the free National Archives of Canada Miscellaneous Immigration Index.
- Institute of Migration - Siirtolaisuusinstituutti - The Emigrant Register
Online searchable database of over 400,000 entries from passport, passenger list, and other records of Finns who emigrated.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- Scottish Emigration Database
Online searchable database containing the records of over 21,000 passengers who embarked at Glasgow and Greenock for non-European ports between 1 January and 30 April 1923, and at other Scottish ports between 1890 and 1960.
See also: Cyndi's List - Land Records, Deeds, Homesteads, Etc.
-
Ancestry.com - Court, Land & Probate Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- Arkansas Land Records -- Interactive Search
- The Bureau of Land Management - General Land Office Records
The Official Land Patent Records Site. This site has a searchable database of more than two million Federal land title records for Eastern Public Land States, issued between 1820 and 1908, including scanned images of those records. The Eastern Public Land States covered in this database are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Ohio, Wisconsin. Images of Serial patents, issued between 1908 and the mid-1960's are currently being added to this web site.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Documents 1789-1980
Find military records, casualty lists, Revolutionary and Civil War pension requests, widow's claims, orphan petitions, land grants and much more including all of the American State Papers (1789-1838) and all genealogical content carefully selected from the U.S. Serial Set (1817-1980). More than 133,000 reports, lists and documents. New content added monthly.
- Louisiana Land Records -- Interactive Search
Pre-1908 Homestead and Cash Entry Patents from the Bureau of Land Management's General Land Office (GLO) Automated Records Project.
- The Old 300 Genealogical Database ~ Texas
"The 'Old 300' database actually includes a core listing of all settlers who had received land grants in Austin's Colony by the eve of the war for independence from Mexico".
- Wisconsin Land Records -- Interactive Search
Pre-1908 Homestead and Cash Entry Patents from the BLM.
- Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy 1719-1820
Online searchable database of over 100,000 descriptions of slaves found in documents in Louisiana between 1718 and 1821 from Dr. Gwendolyn Midlo Hall.
-
Ancestry.com - Search by Locality Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Databases for the United States, UK & Ireland, Europe, Canada, and Australia.
- CAORA - County Down Northern Ireland Genealogy
Searchable database covering the Flax Grants, Tithe Records, Griffith's Valuation and the 1901 census summary sheet.
- Digitalarkivet
Online searchable databases from the National Archives of Norway and the University of Bergen.
- DutchGenealogy.com
One million christenings in South Holland 1695-1812. Court record indexes from the 1600s through the early 1800s. Utrecht Province records from 1600 to 1812 (baptism, marriage, burial). Maps of the cities in Holland about 1865, by J. Kuyper. You can acquire the "Gazetteer of the Netherlands", by A.J. van der Aa on CD-ROM. Also contains a discussion group on Dutch genealogy, helpful tips on Dutch research.
- Fylkesarkivet i Sogn og Fjordane - Databases
Norwegian census, land, church, emigration, probate records, etc.
- Genealogy Quest: Criminal Pardons, 1771
A searchable database showing pardons, remissions and commutations for criminals, in England in the year 1771.
- Genealogy Quest: South Carolina Naturalizations
A searchable database of persons admitted to United States Citizenship by the U.S. courts in South Carolina from 1790 to 1800.
- Gold Rush Database
Check out the "Pan for Gold Database".
- Hospital Records Database
Provides information on the existence and location of the records of the hospitals in the U.K. Currently over 2,800 entries can be found by searching the database using the following simple enquiry screen.
- In Search of Your Canadian Past: The Canadian County Atlas Digital Project
From McGill University's Rare Books and Special Collections Division. A searchable database derived from published county atlases between 1874 & 1881. Searchable by property owners' names or by location. Township maps, portraits and properties have been scanned, with links from the property owners' names in the database.
- London Jews Database
- Miami Valley Genealogical Index
Surname index of census, tax, marriage & wills records for these counties: Butler, Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Hamilton, Mercer, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, Warren ~ Ohio.
- NARA - AAD
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), Access to Archival Databases (AAD), United States.
- NORDGUIDE
A directory of databases in the Nordic Countries.
- Northwest & Local History Databases from the Tacoma Public Library
- Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names
Searchable online database.
- The Origins Network
 Comprehensive and exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the 13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books to browse.
- Portuguese Roots Master Database
- Provincial Archives of New Brunswick - Archives provinciales du Nouveau-Brunswick
- Siciliani nel Mondo / Sicilia in the World
E-mail addresses for people researching Sicilian surnames.
- The Steam Engine Makers' Society
- USGenWeb Archives
Searchable by state. Census, church, marriages, maps, obituaries, pensions and special collections.
- Wisconsin Historical Society - Wisconsin Name Index
Search more than 100,000 obituaries, personal sketches, and other short biographies of Wisconsin people. These texts originally appeared in 150 county and local histories, dozens of professional directories and biographical encyclopedias, more than 60 scrapbooks containing 30,000 obituaries, and in Wisconsin magazines and newspapers. Thousands include portraits and other illustrations. Users can search the database with a last name, first name, maiden name, time frame, and various other details. Photocopies of biographical sketches, articles, and obituaries can all be ordered online through our online genealogical research service.
See also: Cyndi's List - Marriages
-
Ancestry.com - Birth, Marriage, & Death Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- Illinois Statewide Marriage Index 1763-1900
An ongoing project of the Illinois State Archives and the Illinois State Genealogical Society. Not all counties are complete. The sources for this index include original county clerk's marriage records such as marriage registers and licenses as well as publications of county genealogical societies and private individuals.
- Indiana State Library - Genealogy Collection
- Kentucky Vital Records Index
Marriage / Divorce / Death.
- Lincoln County, Tennessee, Marriages -- Interactive Search
- Maine State Archives - Marriage History Search Form
Index to Maine Marriages 1892-1966.
- New South Wales Registry of Births, Deaths and Marriages
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- The Origins Network
 Comprehensive and exclusive British and Irish record collections dating back to the 13th century, as well as rare and unique photos and books to browse.
- Vital Events Indexes - BC Archives ~ Canada
- Wayne County Indiana Marriage License Database
Searchable database for marriage licenses from 1811 to 1903.
See also: Cyndi's List - Canada - Military
See also: Cyndi's List - Military Resources Worldwide
See also: Cyndi's List - Military - World War II
See also: Cyndi's List - U.K. - Military
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Civil War ~ War for Southern Independence
See also: Cyndi's List - U.S. - Military
- American Battle Monuments Commission
The ABMC is responsible for commemorating the services of the American Armed Forces through the establishment of suitable memorial shrines; operating & maintaining permanent American military burial grounds in foreign countries. Web site includes detailed descriptions of overseas cemeteries & searchable databases of war dead.
- Mexican War Dead or Veterans
At the Mexico City National Cemetery there are seven hundred and fifty American soldiers buried that were killed during the Mexican War.
- Civil War Dead or Veterans
List of those buried at the Mexico City National Cemetery or the Corozal American Cemetery: eight American servicemen who died during the Civil War and forty-five Civil War Veterans.
- Spanish-American War Veterans
List of names - no other information given.
- World War I Search
Online searchable database of the 33,717 names of those American service personnel buried at ABMC cemeteries, those Missing in Action and those buried or lost at sea. Note that there were 116,516 US casualties in World War I.
- World War II Search
Online searchable database of the 176,399 names of those American service personnel buried at ABMC cemeteries, those Missing in Action and those buried or lost at sea. Note that there were 405,399 US casualties in World War II.
- Korean War Casualties
- Korean War Search
Online searchable database of the nearly 39,000 names of those American service personnel who died during the Korean War period. Note that there were 54,246 US casualties in the Korean War.
- American Civil War Research and Genealogy Database
Fee-for-search online database.
-
Ancestry.com - Military Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- Confederate Pension Records
From the Texas State Electronic Library. Searchable database of Confederate pensions filed in the state of Texas.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Documents 1789-1980
Find military records, casualty lists, Revolutionary and Civil War pension requests, widow's claims, orphan petitions, land grants and much more including all of the American State Papers (1789-1838) and all genealogical content carefully selected from the U.S. Serial Set (1817-1980). More than 133,000 reports, lists and documents. New content added monthly.
- NARA - AAD - List of Series - Genealogy/ Personal History: Military Personnel
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), Access to Archival Databases (AAD), United States.
- Electronic Army Serial Number Merged File, ca. 1938 - 1946
Online file available as two tables in the Access to Archival Databases tool. The main table is the Army Serial Number Enlistment Card Records table that has records for almost 9 million men and women who enlisted in the Army and Women's Army Auxiliary Corps. The Army Serial Number Reserve Corps Statistical Card Records table has records for approximately 300,000 reservists in the Enlisted Reserve Corps.
- Selective Service System | Obtaining Records
The Selective Service System is able to provide information from records kept on men currently registered with Selective Service, as well as on men who were registrants as far back as World War I. Includes instructions on how to obtain Selective Service records.
- Selective Service - Verification
This online search service allows you to look up a man's Selective Service number, as well as the date he registered. Only registrations of men born on or after January 1, 1960, can be verified through this system.
- Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V.
The German Military Grave Registration Service. Maintains 2 million war graves in over 640 cemeteries. Assists in grave identification and restoration. Provides assistance in determining the fate of German war dead.
- World War I History Questionnaires
From the Library of Virginia.
- About the World War I History Commission Questionnaires Database
The Virginia War History Commission was established in 1919 to collect, assemble, edit and publish information and material concerning Virginia's participation in World War I. The Commission conducted a survey of World War I veterans in Virginia through the use of a printed questionnaire. The World War I History Commission Questionnaires Database is a fully-searchable database of over 14,900 records, one for each questionnaire respondent, accessible by name, city/county, and race.
- Accessible Archives Full-Text Database
Pay for use online searchable transcriptions of primary source material from 18th & 19th century periodicals.
-
Ancestry.com - Periodicals & Newspapers Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Documents 1789-1980
Find military records, casualty lists, Revolutionary and Civil War pension requests, widow's claims, orphan petitions, land grants and much more including all of the American State Papers (1789-1838) and all genealogical content carefully selected from the U.S. Serial Set (1817-1980). More than 133,000 reports, lists and documents. New content added monthly.
- GenealogyBank.com - Search Historical Newspapers 1690-1977
108.6+ million articles, obituaries, marriage notices, birth announcements and other items published in more than 500,000 issues of over 2,400 historical U.S. newspapers. New content added monthly.
- One-Step Webpages by Stephen P. Morse
Alternate search functions for many online databases. Includes tools for immigration, census, vital records, calendars, soundex, foreign alphabets, Jewish and Holocaust research.
- Search Systems - Largest Free Public Records Database Collection
Over 4,300 links to free public record databases.
- United States Patent and Trademark Office
- USPTO Web Patent Databases
The Full-Text Database contains all the 6.5 million US patents issued since 1790. In the form of searchable patent numbers and current US classifications hyperlinked to full-page images of each page of each patent.
- Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704
See also: Cyndi's List - Databases - Lineage-Linked
See also: Cyndi's List - Personal Home Pages
See also: Cyndi's List - Queries & Message Boards
See also: Cyndi's List - Surnames, Family Associations & Family Newsletters
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|