Advertisements


Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
1996-2010: Your genealogy starting point online for more than a decade!
Google
Web CyndisList.com

Browse
Cyndi's List:

  • Main Index
  • Topical Index
  • Alphabetical Index
  • "No Frills" Index
  • Text-Only Index

    Search:
  • Search or Browse

  • Browse New Links
    Submit a New Link
    Mailing List
  • Browse Archives
  • Search Archives
  • RSS Archives
  • Cyndi's List BlogCyndi's List Blog

    SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

    Cyndi's List

    Promote Your Page Too


    32,000+ titles

    14-Day Free Trial
    Ancestry.com

    Advertisements


    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi's List
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Support Cyndi's List
    Historical Timeline
    FAQ
    Make it Your Homepage!
    Link to Cyndi's List
    Awards & Recognition
    Internet Stuff You Need To Know
    Home Page
    Construction Kit

    About Cyndi's List About Cyndi
    FAQ
    Cyndi's Speaking Schedule & Calendar
    Cyndi's Books:
    Order Planting Your Family Tree Online from Amazon.com
    Planting Your Family Tree Online
    Netting Your Ancestors - Internet How-To Book
    Netting Your Ancestors

    Advertisements

    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
    Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore 

    Discover

    Free Shipping 125x125

    E-Yearbook.com - MILLIONS of Yearbook Photos

    Advertisements


    FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) FAQ
    (Frequently Asked Questions):
    What is Cyndi's List?
    Before Sending E-mail to Cyndi...
    How to Submit a New Link to Cyndi's List
    How to Report a Broken Link Found on Cyndi's List
    How to Update an Existing Link on Cyndi's List
    New to genealogy and/or the Internet
    "Can you help me with my own research?"
    How You Can Support Cyndi's List
    More FAQs

    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    Advertisements

    Advertisements


    U.S. - California



    Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey™


    General Resource Sites


    Directories


    Government & Cities


    History & Culture


    How To


    Immigration

    LeafAngel Island


    Libraries, Archives & Museums


    Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat

    Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.

    • CA-AfriGeneas Mailing List 
      To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within California.
    • CA-CEMETERIES Mailing List 
      For anyone searching for their ancestors in California cemeteries and anyone interested in preserving historical information about California cemeteries and sharing information about them. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List 
      For anyone desiring a check of California census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-CORNISH 
      For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the immigrants to California from Cornwall, England. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-DEATH-INDEX Mailing List 
      For anyone who desires lookups in the California Death Index (July 1905 to 1995) or who has access to the index and can do lookups for other subscribers. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-FREEDMEN Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in Freedmen in California from all ethnic backgrounds (e.g., African, Native American, Caucasian). Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-FOOTSTEPS Mailing List 
      For the sharing of original California source material such as wills, deeds, bible records, tax lists, cemetery files, pension applications, obituaries, old letters, marriage lists, etc., with other California researchers. Archives: browse or search.
    • CAGEN Mailing List 
      For discussing the creation of a single source for all California genealogy databases. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of California. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-GOLDRUSH Mailing List 
      For anyone who is interested in early California miners and settlers, especially in northern California, 1848-1880. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-RECORDS Mailing List 
      For anyone conducting genealogical/historical research in California to discuss early California records and where they can be found and accessed. Archives: browse or search.
    • CAROOTS Mailing List 
      Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-SHOSHONI-TRAIL Mailing List 
      For anyone with a genealogical interest in the Shoshoni Trail which served as the transverse emigrant road to and from California from 1848-1851. Archives: browse or search.
    • CA-SPANISH Mailing List 
      For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the ancestors and descendants of the California Spanish families and the tools employed to research them. Archives: browse or search.
    • NA-CALIFORNIA Mailing List 
      For anyone who is researching their Native American ancestry in California. Archives: browse or search.
    • NORCAL-L Mailing List 
      For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the genealogy and history of Northern California. Archives: browse or search.
    • OREGON-TRAIL Mailing List 
      For those who want to research their family history concerning anything to do with the Oregon Trail. The history of the trail is an appropriate topic for discussion as well as postings of wagon train lists, and anything else genealogical including stories of life as a pioneer, diaries, queries, books, etc.Western states involved would mostly be Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington; maybe even California, Utah and others. Time periods include around 1840-1900. Archives: browse or search.
    • SOCAL Mailing List 
      For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the genealogy and history of SOuthern CALifornia. Archives: browse or search.
    • WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing List 
      Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.

    • California Genealogy Yahoo! Groups 


    Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information


    Military


    Newspapers


    Occupations

    • Waterfront Workers History Project New
      Explores this vital history, focusing first on the men and women who have worked in the ports, the inland waterways, the fisheries, canneries, and other waterfront industries of California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, and Alaska. From the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies, University of Washington.


    People & Families

    Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.


    Periodicals & Pamphlets

    Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets


    Photographs & Memories

    Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life


    Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services

    Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers


    Publications, Software & Supplies


    Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists


    Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
    (Born, Married, Died & Buried)

    The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.

    LeafCemeteries

    LeafCensus

    LeafImmigration & Naturalization

    LeafLand

    LeafMiscellaneous

    LeafObituaries

    LeafTaxes

    LeafVital Records: Birth, Marriage, Death

    LeafWills & Probate


    Religion & Churches


    Societies & Groups


    U.S. - Localities: Counties, Areas & Regions



    LeafReport a Broken Link / Update a LinkLeaf

    Enter for a chance to win $20,000 Ultimate Family History Journey™




    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet - U.S. - California
    Webmaster & Owner: Cyndi Howells, Cyndi@CyndisList.com
    Updated Saturday, 20 March 2010, 10:00:53 PM PDT

    [Copyright © 1996-2010 Cyndi Howells. All rights reserved.]   [Disclaimers]   [Privacy]   [FAQ]   [Support Us]
    This site may be freely linked to but not duplicated in any fashion without the author's consent.
    Background and title banner graphics property of Cyndi Howells.

    Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet


    Advertisements
    WDYTYA Sweeps