Advertisements
Advertisements |
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement

Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
 |
U.S. - Alaska
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- Government & Cities
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- Occupations
- People & Families
- Periodicals & Pamphlets
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Queries, Message Boards & Surname Lists
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Religion & Churches
- Societies & Groups
Also for Alaska:
- Localities: Boroughs, Areas & Regions
|
|
|
|
|
- AccessGenealogy - Alaska Genealogy Resource Center
- Alaska Genealogy and History Project
- American Local History Network - Alaska
- Ancestor Search - Alaska Genealogy Search Engines
- Ancestors: Resource Guide - Alaska
Contact information for archives, libraries, genealogical & historical societies, church records and ethnic resources.
-
Ancestry.com - Alaska Genealogy - Databases, Sources, How To's Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Free articles and helpful research materials.
- ePodunk
Provides ancestral demographics & categorized links to other genealogy sites.
- FamilySearch.org Research Guidance - Research Outline - Alaska
This outstanding outline introduces records and strategies that can help you learn more about your ancestors. It explains terms associated with this state's particular genealogy research and describes the content, use, and availability of major genealogical records.
- Family Tree Connection - Alaska Resources
Search the listings for free, view full details with a fee-based subscription.
- Footnote.com - Alaska
Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- Genealogical Resources in Anchorage, Alaska
- GenealogyBank.com - Alaska
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Genealogy Buff - Library - Alaska Data
Data files for many counties including obituaries, death notices, marriage indexes, death indexes, baptisms, and births.
-
Genealogy.com: State Resources -- Alaska
- Genealogy Trails History Group - Alaska Genealogy Trails
Volunteers working together to transcribe records: biographies, cemeteries, court records, family Bibles, obituaries, newspapers, vitals, marriages, & more.
- Geneasearch: A Guide to Alaska Genealogy
Surname registry, female ancestors, ancestors archive, marriage records databases and links.
- G's Adoption Registry - Alaska
- Kindred Trails - Alaska Genealogy Resources
- Lineages.com - Alaska Research Room
- Linkpendium > Genealogy > USA > Alaska
- Looking 4 Kin - Alaska
- The Olive Tree Genealogy - Alaska
- StateGenSites - U.S. Genealogy State by State - Alaska
- Surname Navigator USA
A one window, megasearch engine for surnames. Can simultaneously search various databases using only one input screen. Includes CGI (LDS Mormons) USA, Ancestral File (LDS Mormons) USA, Geneanet USA, Google, genealogy USA, Google News Genealogy USA, Rootsweb message board USA, Ancestry.com, Email Finder USA, White Pages USA.
- USGenWeb - AKGenWeb Project
-
Websites at RootsWeb
- WorldVitalRecords.com - Alaska in Databases or Alaska in Titles
An inexpensive, growing set of pay-for-use databases. Including vital records, court records, military records, and an extensive collection of newspapers.
- Yukon & Alaska Genealogy Centre
- 50states.com - Alaska State Information Resource
A list of general information for each state, including a list of colleges, state symbols, links to maps, newspapers, and other miscellaneous state information.
- City of North Pole
- City of Wrangell
- Court Web Sites - Alaska
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Destination: Haines Alaska: Valley of the Eagles
- Fairbanks North Star Borough
- FindLaw: Alaska: Courts
Links to the web sites of various levels of judicial courts in the state.
- Gateway to Central Southeast Alaska: Petersburg, Alaska
- Juneau, Alaska -- the Capital City Home Page
- Kenai Peninsula Borough Home Page
- Kodiak Island Borough - Kodiak, Alaska
- Municipality of Anchorage, Alaska
- NACo - About Counties - Alaska
From the National Association of Counties. Includes links to county courthouse addresses and telephone numbers as well as links to official county government web sites.
- Nome, Alaska Visitor Information
- Official City Web Sites for the State of Alaska
- Public Records Online
Links to available state & county Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices. Online public records may include copies of deeds, parcel maps, GIS maps, tax data, ownership information and indexes. Some Recorders' offices have marriage and birth records available online.
- Sitka Convention & Visitors Bureau
- Skagway Convention and Visitors Bureau
- State of Alaska Home Page
- USA CityLink Project - Alaska
- Yahoo! Get Local...Alaska Boroughs, Census Areas, and Regions or Cities
Maps, yellow pages, white pages, newspapers and other local information.
- Alaska Historical Commission - Office of History and Archaeology
- Alaska History Timeline
- Camera Workers: British Columbia, Alaska & Yukon 1858-1950
Documents photographers in British Columbia and the Alaska and Yukon territories. Useful in old photo identification.
- Eric A. Hegg Photographs
Historic photographs after the 1900 gold rush.
- ExploreNorth - Yukon and Alaska History
- GenDisasters.com - Events That Touched Our Ancestor's Lives - Alaska
GenDisasters.com, chronicles the events that touched our ancestors' lives - train wrecks, fires, floods, tornadoes, hurricanes, earthquakes, storms, mining explosions, ship wrecks, drownings, and accidents. Transcribed newspaper accounts, excerpts from historical books and photographs detail hundreds of life's tragedies that our ancestors' endured, from the 1800s to the 1950s. New material is being transcribed and added daily. Searchable.
- The History of Anchorage, Alaska
- Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park - Avalanche Victims - Palm Sunday Avalanche
On April 3, 1898, a massive avalanche buried the small settlement of Sheep Camp, Alaska. This lists names of victims found in various sources.
- McCarthy and the Ghost town of the Kennecott Copper Mine
- Valdez Gold Rush Centennial
- Yahoo!...History...Alaska
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
AK-AfriGeneas Mailing List To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored family researchers within Alaska.
-
AK-CEMETERIES Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the locations and preservation of historical information for Alaska cemeteries. Archives: browse or search.
-
AK-CENSUS-LOOKUP Mailing List For anyone desiring a check of Alaska census records for their ancestors. Requests should be as specific as possible and include county name, specific family of interest, and year whenever possible. In addition, those who own or have access to census records and are willing to do lookups are asked to subscribe and assist in responding to queries. Archives: browse or search.
-
AKGEN Mailing List Part of the USGenWeb Project, for discussing the creation of a single source for all Alaska genealogy databases. Archives: browse or search.
-
AK-GHOSTTOWNS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the ghost towns of Alaska. Archives: browse or search.
-
AK-OLD-NEWS Mailing List For the submission of abstracts, extracts and links from Alaska newspapers published prior to 1931. Newspapers contain much of the information that may not be found elsewhere such as births, marriages, deaths, court notices, etc. Archives: browse or search.
-
WESTERN-ROOTS-L Mailing List Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Hawaii, Colorado, Utah, Arizona, and New Mexico.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Kodiak Alaska Military History
- Korean Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Alaska
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- Vietnam Conflict State-Level Casualty Lists - Alaska
From the National Archives and Records Administration, Center for Electronic Records.
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Alaska
- ABYZ News Links - Alaska - Newspapers and News Sources
- Alaskan Newspapers on Microfilm 1866-1998
A guide from the Alaska State Library.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- The Anchorage Daily News
- Footnote.com - Alaska Newspapers
Southeast Alaska's Island News. Footnote is an online repository for original historical documents, combined with the ability for users to make comments, annotations, and upload their own documents. Some areas of Footnote are free to use, while others can be freely searched and then viewed with a paid subscription .
- GenealogyBank.com - Historical Newspapers - Alaska
 GenealogyBank's collection includes modern obituaries, historical newspapers, books, pamphlets, military records, and government documents. The 2,400+ historical newspapers include letters, speeches, opinion pieces, advertisements, hometown news, photographs, illustrations and more. Searchable database results shown, images available with fee-based subscription .
- Home Town News - Alaska
Directory of daily and weekly newspapers in the United States.
- NewsDirectory.com: Newspapers: Alaska
- NewsLink | Newspapers | U.S. | Alaska
- Newspaper Abstracts - Finding Our Ancestors in the News! - Alaska
- NewspaperLinks.com - Alaska
- OnlineNewspapers.com - Newspaper & Newspapers Online Directory: Alaska
- ThePaperboy.com Newspaper Directory - Alaska Newspapers
- The United States Newspaper Program
Cooperative national effort among the states and the federal government to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm newspapers published in the United States from the eighteenth century to the present.
- US Newspaper Links - Alaska Newspapers
- World-newspapers.com - Alaska Newspapers
- Yahoo!...Newspapers...Alaska
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
- Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
 For Alaska, California, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington.
- AfriGeneas | African Ancestry in Alaska
- Agrafena's Children: the Old Families of Ninilchik, Alaska
- Alaska Blacksheep Ancestors
Directory of links for prison and convict records, court records, executions, famous outlaws, criminals & bandits.
- Albert Aris: Genealogical Gold From The Internet
Mark Howells' great-grandfather who worked at a gold mine in Alaska.
- GEDCOM Index .com - - Alaska
Index of GEDCOM files found online, arranged by surname and given name.
- Ninilchik Families
Includes Agrafena, Cooper, Crawford, Kelly, Kvasnikoff, Matson, Oskolkoff.
- Tribes and Villages of Alaska
- Valdez Museum & Historical Archive - Rush Participants Database
Valdez Gold Rush 1898-1899, Names Database.
- Yukon & Alaska Pioneer Biographies - A to L and M to Z
Magazines, journals, quarterlies, newsletters, pamplets, leaflets
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- Dead Fred Genealogy Photo Archive - Alaska
Searchable database containing images of thousands of identified and mystery 19th & 20th century photos for genealogy enthusiasts looking for long-lost family. Search vintage school annuals, faculty & students,images & names. Upload your own vintage yearbooks so others can discover their ancestral images.
- FamilyOldPhotos.com - Alaska
Old, antique, or vintage photos. User submitted with family history and details.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- Accelerated Genealogy Research - Professional Genealogists - Alaska
Our directory lists professional genealogists by education, experience, credentials, research specialty, international or U.S. region, and billing rate to help you find the researcher best qualified to find your ancestor.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Residing in Alaska or Specializing in Alaska
- Genealogy Helplist - Alaska
- genealogyPro - Professional Genealogists for Western and Mid-Western United States
Including the states of Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Alaska
A list of volunteers who are willing to help you with your research in this locality.
The sites found in this category vary in content. Some sites have extractions or transcriptions of actual records. Other sites have helpful lists, articles, tips or guidelines. In a few cases there are scanned images of the original source documents themselves, with more of these types of records coming online each day. Keep in mind that extractions & transcriptions may have errors or may be missing certain portions of the original source material. Always refer to the original source material whenever possible and only use extractions & transcriptions as a starting point to help guide you in your research.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- Before the Needles - Alaska
A detailed listing of executions that occurred under civil authority in Alaska. Listing includes (when known) the convict's name, age, race, sex, occupation, crime, date of execution, method of execution and whether it was a single or multiple execution.
- BLM - Alaska's Electronic Reading Room
United States Bureau of Land Management.
-
Genealogy.com - County Resources
- NARA | US National Archives & Records Administration
- Public Records Online
Contact information for Tax Assessors' and Recorders' offices.
- Records Room: Alaska Counties, United States
- USGenWeb Archives
-
Ancestry.com - Obituary Collection Searchable databases available by subscription. A compilation of obituaries published in newspapers, collected from various online sources.
- ObitsArchive.com - Alaska
 The largest and most comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices in the United States. Each obituary or death notice is indexed by the name of the deceased person, to make searching easier and more precise. In addition, the text of each obituary or death notice is searchable, making it easy to find just what you're looking for using a place of residence, occupation, names of family members, or other personal information.
- The Obituary Link Page - Alaska Obituary Links
Also includes links to cemetery resources.
- USGenWeb Archives
- Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
Contact information, fees, and procedures for ordering vital records from Alaska.
-
Ancestry.com Searchable indexes; database results and some digitized images available with fee-based subscription. Searching Ancestry's databases is free, and then viewing the final results in the genealogical datasets is available by paid subscription. A search serves up a "Ranked Search Result" based on your query. The displayed list of results indicates which of the many databases has a possible match, as well as suggestions to help you refine your search. Following the links for the search hits will result in one of two things: if you are already a paid subscriber you will see the database matches right away; if you are not yet a subscriber you are pointed to a "landing page" that gives you options to become a paid subscriber to one of Ancestry's membership packages.
- MyVitalRec.com - Alaska Vital Records
Information for ordering by mail or online: birth, death, marriage or divorce.
- VitalChek Network - Alaska
- vitalrec.com - Vital Records Information - Alaska
Resources to help you obtain a birth certificate, death record, marriage license and more by mail or online.
- Vital Records US - Alaska Vital Records
Information and guidelines on acquiring vital records information in the United States. Includes state and county contact and pricing information.
- VitalSearch - Alaska (USA): Alaska State Vital Records
Searchable online indexes.
- Where to Write for Vital Records - Alaska
From the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).
Report a Broken Link / Update a Link
|