|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisement
Advertisement
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
Advertisements
Advertisements
|
|
 |
African-American
Category Index
- General Resource Sites
- History & Culture
- How To
- Libraries, Archives & Museums
- Locality Specific
- Mailing Lists, Newsgroups & Chat
- Maps, Gazetteers & Geographical Information
- Military
- Newspapers
- People & Families
- Photographs & Memories
- Professional Researchers, Volunteers & Other Research Services
- Publications, Software & Supplies
- Records: Census, Cemeteries, Land, Obituaries, Personal, Taxes and Vital
- Slavery
- Societies & Groups
|
|
|
|
|
- African-American DNA Roots Project
A non-profit, collaborative effort of Dr. Bruce Jackson of the University of Massachusetts Lowell and Dr. Bert Ely of the University of South Carolina Department of Biological Sciences to reunite African-Americans with their ancestral roots in Africa.
- African-American Genealogy Ring
- African American Lives
A 4-hour series on African American family history, genealogy & genetics from PBS.
- The African - Native Genealogy Homepage
Celebrating the Estelusti ~ The Freedmen Oklahoma's Black Indians of the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole Nations.
- AfriGeneas ~ African American & African Ancestored Genealogy
- Black/African Related Resources
- The Channel 4 Guide to Genealogy or How to Find Your Roots
- Christine's Genealogy Website
A wealth of African-American resources for genealogy as well as Christine's personal research: The RUSSELLs & COBBs of Jackson, Tennessee; the CHARITYs of Surry and Charles City County, Virginia; the ANDERSONs and PERKINS of Shuqualak, Mississippi; and the SIMMONS of Detroit, Michigan.
- FamilySearch.org - African American Family History Resources
- The Freedmen's Bureau Online - Black History - American History
Information and records for "The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands," more commonly known as the Freedmen's Bureau. Published transcriptions of the records of the Freedmens Bureau, including Freedmens marriage certificates and reports of outrages against freed slaves.
- Immigration: The Africans
A brief history of African immigration to the United States.
- In Motion: The African American Migration Experience
From the trans-Atlantic slave trade through the Great Migrations up to the modern African immigrations to the United States.
- Looking 4 Kin Genealogy Links & Chat - African American
- National Human Genome Center at Howard University ~ Washington, D.C.
- Researching Your African American Ancestors
From the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives.
- Roots Television
Roots Television is an online television network by and for avid genealogists. Videos include how-to demonstrations, conference lectures, and region-specific programming including Irish, Hispanic, British, Jewish, African-American research and more. Videos are available online, on-demand, and virtually all of them are absolutely free.
- Scientific American: Feature Article: The Puzzle of Hypertension in African-Americans: February 1999
Genes are often invoked to account for why high blood pressure is so common among African-Americans. Yet the rates are low in Africans. This discrepancy demonstrates how genes and the environment interact.
- US African American Griots
Dedicated to assisting all those in pursuit of African American Ancestry and History in the United States and other countries by being a valuable centralized resource repository for African American records of historical proportion such as manumission orders, wills & deeds, census records, slave records, land deeds, narratives, cemetery listings, family histories and vital records.
- USF Africana Heritage Project
Rediscovering the names and lives of slaves, freedpersons and their descendants.
- We are family: Piecing together the past
Online article from the Christian Science Monitor.
- Yahoo!...African American...Genealogy
- A. Philip Randolph/Pullman Porter Museum Gallery
Chicago, Illinois museum celebrating this leader in the African American labor movement and the African American Railroad Attendant.
- African American Museum of Harrisburg ~ Pennsylvania
- Association of African American Museums
- A Bibliography of African American Family History at the Newberry Library
Describes the African-American genealogy resources in the Newberry Library, Chicago, Illinois.
- The Black Fashion Museum
The Black Fashion Museum in Washington DC acknowledges the achievements and contributions of people from the African Diaspora to the apparel industry.
- African American Monuments, Museums and Memorials
Links to African American museums, monuments and cultural sites.
- Afro-American Sources in Virginia - A Guide To Manuscripts
- Amistad Research Center
- Black Archives of Mid-America
A collaboration between the Black Archives of Mid-America Inc. and Kansas City Public Library, funded by the Missouri State Library.
- Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh - Pennsylvania Department: African-American Genealogy
- Center for American History ~ Austin, Texas
From the University of Texas at Austin.
- Connecticut State Library
- Georgia Archives Ethnic Records
From the Georgia Archives.
- Harriet Tubman Home ~ Auburn, New York
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
Includes a research library with materials on immigration studies.
- Indiana Historical Bureau
- Library of Congress
- Library of Michigan
- Maryland State Archives African American Resources
- Merseyside Maritime Museum ~ Liverpool, England
- Moorland-Spingarn Research Center ~ Washington, D.C.
One of the world's largest and most comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world. As one of Howard University's major research facilities, the MSRC collects, preserves, and makes available for research a wide range of resources chronicling the Black experience.
- Museum of African-American History ~ Detroit, Michigan
- The Museum of African Slavery
- The Museum of Afro-American History Boston ~ Massachusetts
- National Underground Railroad Freedom Center
National Park museum under construction in Cincinnati. Will contain records pertaining to all slavery-era persons. Collecting oral history on Underground Railroad sites and stories.
- New Orleans Public Library
- Parting Ways: The Museum of Afro-American & Cape Verdean History, Inc.
- Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University ~ Durham, North Carolina
- Researching Your African-American Ancestors
From the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives.
- Richard B. Harrison Library - Mollie Huston Lee Collection ~ North Carolina
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
From the New York Public Library.
- A Separate Flame: Western Branch: The First African-American Public Library ~ Louisville, Kentucky
- St. Louis County Library ~ Missouri
- The Walker African-American Museum & Research Center ~ Nevada
- Western Reserve Historical Society Library ~ Cleveland, Ohio
- African American Archives
The African American Archives of the Western Reserve Historical Society's purpose is to collect, preserve and make accessible historic documents, memorabilia, art, and artifacts pertaining to African American life, history and culture in Northeast Ohio and beyond.
- A Community Remembers - African-American Life in Princeton ~ New Jersey
- African American History ~ Princeton, New Jersey
From the Princeton Public Library. Includes marriage and death notices.
- African American Research
Guide for holdings at the Alabama Department of Archives & History.
- African-American Resources ~ Missouri
From the St. Louis Public Library.
- African-Americans in Chester & Delaware Counties ~ Pennsylvania
- African Americans In Cumberland County, North Carolina
Tips on African American genealogical searches in Cumberland County NC; and the authors personal genealogy search for the POE, BOGANS, PETTIFORD, COUNCIL, AND BIBBY (BEEBE) families.
- African Americans in Missouri
Resources for African Americans seeking enslaved ancestors in Missouri. The site offers slave schedules, marriage records, black cemetery listing and a slave database of Missouri slave owners. Volunteers transcribe data for a variety of much needed resources.
- African-Americans in Southeastern Ohio
- African Americans in West Virginia
Selections from the James Randall Collection at the West Virginia State Archives.
- African-American Sources for Gibson County, Indiana
- African Immigration to Maryland
A scholarly review of immigration into Maryland from the very first colonists to modern immigrants.
- ALGenWeb: Ethnic Groups: African-American Genealogy and History Sites
- Arkansas Black History Online
- Black Loyalists: Our History, Our People
- Blacks in Alaska History Project Inc.
- Early African American Settlers
The largest rural African American settlement of freed and newly free slaves in the state of Wisconsin. Began in 1850 - 1940. Detailed info on Arms and Shivers families.
- Florida African American Roots
- Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware
History of over 500 African American families who were free in the colonial period through 1820.
- Freedmen of the Frontier
African American genealogy and historical reference site for western Arkansas and eastern Oklahoma.
- Genealogy research resources specifically for African American Families
From the Cleveland Public Library.
- Gens De Couleur Libre -The Free People of Color in New Orleans
History, surnames,links and group discussions on the Free People of Color in New Orleans.
- The Geography of Slavery in Virginia
Digital collection of advertisements for runaway slaves, captured slaves & servants in 18th- & 19th-century Virginia newspapers. Over 4000 advertisements for runaway slaves and indentured servants from newspapers in Virginia & Maryland from 1736-1803. Keyword searchable database.
- The History Guy: Slave Rebellions and Uprisings in the U.S.
- Georgia African American
Links to information on African Americans in Georgia, USA. Includes military, cemetary, census links, biographies and more.
- Georgia Lynching Victims
List of 486 victims of lynchings in Georgia from the 1880s to the present.
- Guide to African-American Documentary Resources in North Carolina
- Historic African-American Families of Denton County ~ Texas
- Louisiana African American Archives
Resources for African Americans researchers with an interest Louisiana.
- Missouri's African American History
- Monroe County, WV African-American Research ~ West Virginia
- Negro Settlers of Michigan
Original Negro settlers of Montcalm, Isabella, and Mecosta - Central Michigan.
- People of Color in Old Tennessee
- Profiles of African Americans in Tennessee
- Poplar Hill on His Lordship's Kindness ~ Clinton, Maryland
Museum and historic residence.
- Remembering Black Loyalists, Black Communities in Nova Scotia
- Schomburg Exhibition, Harlem 1900-1940
Harlem: 1900-1940 was originally published in 1991 by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, The New York Public Library. This web site version is based in part on the 1991 publication.
- Thomasville's Black History
Thomasville and Thomas County, Georgia.
- To Know My Name - A Chronological History of African Americans in Santa Cruz County ~ California
Mailing lists are interactive e-mail forums that are free for you to subscribe to and participate in. Click on the links below and be sure to follow the instructions provided exactly as shown in order to subscribe to the mailing list of your choice. Be sure to keep a copy of the welcome message that you receive. This message will contain details about the mailing list, the person who runs the list and instructions you will need in order to participate in the list, unsubscribe from the list, etc.
-
AFRICA Mailing List Archives: browse or search.
-
AFRICANAMER-GEN Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding all aspects of African-American genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
- Afrigeneas Chat
-
Afrigeneas Mailing list
- Afrigeneas Mailing Lists for individual U.S. states:
AK-AfriGeneas ,
AL-AfricaAmer ,
AR-AfriGeneas ,
AZ-AfriGeneas ,
CA-AfriGeneas ,
CO-AfriGeneas ,
CT-AfriGeneas ,
DC-AfriGeneas ,
DE-AfriGeneas ,
FL-AfriGeneas ,
GA-AfriGeneas ,
HI-AfriGeneas ,
IA-AfriGeneas ,
IL-AfriGeneas ,
IN-AfriGeneas ,
KS-AfriGeneas ,
KY-AfriGeneas ,
LA-AfriGeneas ,
MA-AfriGeneas ,
MD-AfriGeneas ,
ME-AfriGeneas ,
MI-AfriGeneas ,
MN-AfriGeneas ,
MO-AfriGeneas ,
MS-AfriGeneas ,
NC-AfriGeneas ,
NH-AfriGeneas ,
NJ-AfriGeneas ,
NM-AfriGeneas ,
NV-AfriGeneas ,
NY-AfriGeneas ,
OH-AfriGeneas ,
OK-AfriGeneas ,
OR-AfriGeneas ,
PA-AfriGeneas ,
SC-AfriGeneas ,
TN-AfriGeneas ,
TX-AfriGeneas ,
VA-AfriGeneas ,
WA-AfriGeneas ,
WI-AfriGeneas ,
WVa-AfriGeneas
-
alabama-slaves Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding slaves mentioned in Alabama records.
-
AL-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Alabama. Archives: browse or search.
-
AR-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Arkansas. Archives: browse or search.
-
blackadoptiontriad Mailing List For all African-Americans affected by the adoption experience (e.g., adoptees, adoptive parents, birth parents, siblings) to help others in their search for family members and to share searching stores and reunion experiences.
-
BLACK-IRISH Mailing List For A mailing list for anyone with genealogy interest in Black-Irish ancestry. This list has great emphasis on the theory of Irish, Native American, Spanish, African, and other nationalities being connected to this great mystery called Black Irish. Archives: browse or search.
-
BLACKWARHEROS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in Black Americans who were "heroes" during any war. Archives: browse or search.
-
BSMF-AfriGeneas To coordinate, network and strengthen the efforts of African ancestored researchers interested in Black Smokey Mountain families.
-
Canada-AfriGeneas Mailing List
-
CANADA-FREEDMEN Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the travels of southern slaves as they were guided to freedom in Canada by Harriet Tubman. Archives: browse or search.
-
Caribbean-AfriGeneas Mailing List
- Christine's Genealogy Forum
African American genealogy forum.
-
DE-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Delaware. Archives: browse or search.
-
FPC-OTHER-FREE-GEN Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in Free Person of Color, Other Free, and/or Mulatto as reported by official records. Archives: browse or search.
-
FREEDMEN Mailing List For discussion and sharing of information regarding slaves who were freed by their owners including related files and data. This includes African American, Native American, Scotch, Irish, and any other slave in the United States. Archives: browse or search.
-
GEN-AFRICAN Mailing List Gatewayed with the soc.genealogy.african newsgroup for the discussion of African genealogy. Archives: browse or search.
-
JEFFERSON-HEMINGS Mailing List for the discussion and sharing of information regarding the descendants of Thomas Jefferson and Sally Hemings. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-REGULATORS Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding the history of the Kentucky Regulators, their surnames, and the deeds that they did. Archives: browse or search.
-
KY-SLAVES Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the slaves of Kentucky or researching surnames listed as slaves or free slaves in Kentucky. Archives: browse or search.
-
MD-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Maryland. Archives: browse or search.
-
MICHIGAN-AFAM Mailing List For anyone who is researching their African American ancestry in Michigan. Archives: browse or search.
-
MIXED-MARRIAGES Mailing List For those interested in Native American and African American, Inter-Marriages, and the hidden culture/ancestry which so many of us didn't realize existed and still currently exists in today's society. Archives: browse or search.
-
MSAFRICANAMER Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of information regarding all aspects of African-American genealogy in Mississippi. Archives: browse or search.
-
NC-USCT Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the US Colored Troops formed in North Carolina during the American Civil War including soldiers, battles, regimental histories and military and pension records for the 35th, 36th, 37th & 135th US Colored Infantries and the 14th US Colored Heavy Artillery. See the also North Carolina - US Colored Troops web site. Archives: browse or search.
-
NJ-AFAM Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American ancestry in New Jersey. Archives: browse or search.
-
OH-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Ohio. Archives: browse or search.
-
OH-CW-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in African Americans from Ohio who fought in the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
POCSOUTH Mailing List "People of Color, South" to open a dialogue with African American genealogists doing research in the thirteen southern United States. Archives: browse or search.
-
PULLMAN-COMPANY Mailing List For genealogical or historical interest in the Pullman Palace Car Company (founded 1867) and their ancestors who were associated with it. The list will address the Pullman Company; Pullman Palace Car Company; Pullman Car Works; Pullman porters; and the town of Pullman, Illinois, near Chicago, which was built for Pullman employees. Archives: browse or search.
-
SlaveAfriGeneas Mailing List For the descendants of slaves and slaveowners to meet on a common ground in the search for the last slave owner. The African ancestored family searcher must research the family of the "suspected" slave owner in order to get past the pre War Between The States curtain.
-
SLAVEINFO Mailing List For the sharing of genealogical data about slaves in the United States including wills/deeds that show sales and transfer of ownership, vital records (e.g., birth, marriage, death), and information/queries on specific slaves that may be part of your ancestry. Archives: browse or search.
-
SLAVE-OWNERS Mailing List For for anyone with a genealogical interest in slave owners in the United States. Archives: browse or search.
-
SOUTHERN-METIS Mailing List for anyone with a genealogical interest in their Metis ancestry ... those with a mix of the indigenous peoples of the Western Hemisphere and Europeans or those with mixed Native American and African ancestry. Archives: browse or search.
-
SOUTHERN-PLANTATIONS Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the plantations of the southern United States and their owners. Archives: browse or search.
- Usenet Newsgroup soc.genealogy.african
-
STMP_Roots Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical interest in the descendants of slaves and Free Persons of Color in St. Mary Parish, Louisiana.
-
TN-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Tennessee. Archives: browse or search.
-
TX-AFAM-GEN Mailing List For anyone who is researching their African American genealogy in Texas. Archives: browse or search.
-
UNDERGROUND-RR Mailing List For anyone with a genealogical or historical interest in the underground railroad - the loose network of antislavery northerners that illegally helped fugitive slaves reach safety in the free states or Canada in the period before the American Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
US-SLAVE-TRADE Mailing List For the discussion and sharing of genealogical and historical information regarding those involved in the transportation and selling of slaves in the Americas before the Civil War. Archives: browse or search.
-
VA-AfricaAmer Mailing List For anyone with an interest in African American genealogy in Virginia. Archives: browse or search.
- 34th United States Colored Troops and 2nd South Carolina Volunteers
- African-American Civil War Memorial
Made possible by AT&T, the Web site provides information for anyone interested in freedom and historical truth or in the valor of the African-American soldiers who fought during the war. An interactive feature allows visitors to find information on the soldiers who served in the war and provides a resource that helps the descendants of these soldiers to keep this history alive. The Web site also features an online store which allows visitors to purchase souvenirs and show their support for the Foundation and it's programs.
- African-American Medal of Honor Winners
African-American Medal of Honor Winners from the Civil War to the Spanish American War.
- African Americans in the Civil War
Links to more sites.
- African Americans in the Military
- African American Warriors
- African American Warriors
- The Buffalo Soldiers on the Western Frontier
From the International Museum of the Horse.
- Casualty Reports of the 10th U.S. Cavalry, San Juan Hill, July 1898
List of the missing, dead and wounded Buffalo soldiers of the 10th United Stated Cavalry taken from the reports of officers following the action on San Juan Hill, Cuba during the Spanish American War.
- The Civil War
Several links and articles from "Lest We Forget".
- The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS)
The current version of the CWSS is a new presentation of the names and regimental histories of the African American units in the Union Army.
- Descriptive Recruitment Lists of Volunteers for the United States Colored Troops for the State of Missouri, 1863-1865
From the St. Louis County Library. Information about this microfilm set which records the recruitment of 5,000+ African Americans who enlisted in Missouri Colored Volunteers during 1863-1865.
- Documenting African Americans in the Records of Military Agencies
Article by Lisha Penn.
- Eighth United States Colored Troops
- Fifty-fourth Massachusetts Infantry
- Preserving the Legacy of the United States Colored Troops
Article by Budge Weidman.
- Prologue: Racial Identity and the Case of Capt. Michael Healy
By James M. O'Toole. Prologue: Quarterly of the National Archives and Records Administration Fall 1997, vol. 29, no. 3.
- The Revolution's Black Soldiers
- Tennessee Colored Pension Applications for C. S. A. Service
This page contains name of African-Americans with Tennessee connections who applied for pensions claiming service with the Confederate States of America during the Civil War.
- United States Colored Troops Resident in Baltimore at the time of the 1890 Census
Alphabetical list of soldiers, from Maryland State Archives.
- United States Colored Troops: The Civil War
- US Colored Civil War Soldiers - Washington Court House Cemetery ~ Ohio
- World War II Black Medal of Honor Recipients
Full text citations.
Adoptions, biographies, ethnic groups, famous people, immigrants, some family groups, etc.
Photos, postcards, yearbooks, school memorabilia, and other ephemera of life
- UVa Special Collections Library: Holsinger Studio Collection - African American Photographs
The Holsinger Studio Collection constitutes a unique photographic record of life in Charlottesville and Albemarle County, Virginia, from before the turn of the century through World War I. Approximately two-thirds of the collection are studio portraits, and among these are nearly 500 portraits of African-American citizens of Charlottesville and the surrounding area.
Links to professional researchers found on Cyndi's List are included as a courtesy. Unless otherwise stated, the existence of these links on Cyndi's List does not imply endorsement of the services or products provided by those professional researchers. See also: Disclaimers
- African Ancestry
Web site and associated mailing list describing genetic database being accumulated to assist African Americans in identifying their ancestor's region of origin in Africa.
- Board for Certification of Genealogists - Roster of Those Certified - Specializing in African American Genealogy
- Bright and Harris Family Tree
A site specializing in African American genealogy research services, BRIGHT and HARRIS surnames.
- Carpenter Genealogical Services ~ Salt Lake City, Utah
A professional genealogical research group in Salt Lake City specializing in the United States and Western Europe. Our focus is Pennsylvania, Ohio, West Virginia, Colonial Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Arkansas, Texas, Missouri, Wyoming, Nebraska and African American/Slavery research and slavery in the South. Western European limited to Germany, Switzerland, France, and the Scandanavian countries. Families of note: WINGET, HATHAWAY, AXTELL, CLUTTER, DOUD, LYTLE, BLEHSCHMIDT, EHMAN, HAGGSTROM.
- Entangled Lives: Facing our Slaveholding Past
Genealogical speakers providing a multi-media presentation. While researching their genealogies in Randolph County, Missouri, Pam Smith discovered that her enslaved great great grandfather was actually owned by a member of Ann Neel’s family.
- eXpertGenealogy - Genealogy Professional Genealogist - African American
Directory of professional genealogists specializing in African American research.
- FreeJoe Enterprises
Professional speaker and family history self publishing assistance.
- Tony Burroughs
An internationally known genealogist, and author, who teaches genealogy at Chicago State University. He lectures throughout the United States and Canada on all aspects of genealogy.
- Cyndi's List Genealogy Bookstore
A categorized list of genealogy research books that looks a lot like my bookshelf at home.
- African American Genealogy 1850 - 1880
A CD for sale. Birth and death information extracted from Federal Census records. Names, ages, causes of death and location of death. Cities, Town, Counties. Shows paths traveled by slaves from birth to final destination. For Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Dakota Territory, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia and Wyoming.
- Amazon.com Genealogy Bookstore - African American
 The following are individual book titles of interest for this topic. The book links below point to the Amazon.com bookstore online where you may purchase the book if you wish. These links are provided to bring these published resources to your attention as an aid to your research. Follow the links to books of interest to make note of their title, author, publisher, and ISBN. You might then use this information to obtain the book from your local library or your favorite corner book shop.
|